We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“C2C”
Review of The Hermitage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shap
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hermitage
Ranked #2 of 2 Shap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We arrived after a long, hot walk to be welcomed by Jean who very kindly gave us iced water with a dash of elderflower. This was a lovely gesture and we appreciated it. The house is wonderful and full of interesting antiques and curios - the garden is delightful too. Our room was very comfortable and well thought out and the bathroom was large.
We ate at Shap Chippy and had delicious fish and chips.
Breakfast was excellent - fresh fruit and cereals and a perfectly cooked full English. Jean is extremely helpful and friendly and we had a very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hikers25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

I had read the reviews before booking but nothing prepared us for the treats we had in store! The Hermitage is like walking back into a bygone era- from the amazing 17th century house full of antiques, family memorabilia and beautiful old furniture to the superb manicured garden and finally to the warm welcome from Jean. We had a double room with a bath- absolute heaven, especially the Radox to relax our aching muscles! The breakfast was superb with wonderful home made sausages and everything cooked to perfection by Jean and served by her lovely grand-daughter Elisha (sorry if the spelling is not correct). How refreshing to find a young girl so willing to engage in conversation and so obviously proud to share her family history with guests! Don't hesitate to stay here if you are doing the C2C - it was one our favourite stops! The local fish and chip shop is also worth a visit- the lightest, crispest battered fish I have ever tasted!

Room Tip: The double at the front with a bathroom down a few stairs is perfect if you don't mind uneven fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judyindisguise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The delightful Joan at The Hermitage must never tire of the stunned look on her guests faces when she opens the door to them for the first time! At the end of the main entrance hallway is a beautiful large stained glass window, the light coming through which, illuminates the whole hallway, giving an almost religious experience! The Hermitage is a very special place. From the immaculately manicured gardens, to the sheer character and charm of the 17th century house, the cosy snug with it's piano where you can sit by a log fire and read a book. The place is steeped in history and is a truly unique place to stay.

I could literally just spend a day just looking at all the photos, antiques and books in the lounge and in the snug. There's even a couple of original presses from some Wainwright's books to marvel over.

I stayed in a twin room which was spacious and comfortable. Joan's grandchildren help to serve the amazing breakfasts, which was utterly charming.

One fellow coast to coast walker hadn't pre-booked his accommodation and Joan was even kind enough to use her local knowledge to try and find him somewhere to stay. In the end I let him share my room, because everywhere was full. She really is a gem and the icing on the cake of a perfect stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoccaDiLupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

It was a real treat to stay at The Hermitage with its beautifully decorated rooms, absolutely full of history. Our spacious room was at the front with its huge bathroom down a few steps. Clean and quiet and well located for Coast to Coast walkers as it is on the way into Shap if walking from the west. An excellent breakfast and Jean generously made us bacon sandwiches at no extra cost.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulianaFrancesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The Hermitage is not a typical B & B. The building dates back to the 17th century and includes lots of the owner's antiques. There is a large lounge available for residents, and you feel you are in a private home rather than a B & B. The bedrooms are quirky - lots of uneven floors reflecting the age of the house - but large, with good baths with shower attachments, plenty of towels and toiletries. Each room has an electric fan heater to use if the central heating is off. Parking is in the grounds. The breakfast was excellent, with lots of local produce and served (at the weekend) by two very efficient family members.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stapito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This really is a fabulous old house and one has to accept creacking and unleaven floors in a place of this age. Our landlady was out on urgent family business but we were told to just let ourselves in and make ourselves at home which we did. Nice tea tray and big bath which was superb after a long walk. There is also a large lounge which is becoming more and more hard to come by in B and B's. I have to say we found no trace of a grumpy landlady others have complained of, in fact she looked after us exceedingly well and breakfast was superb.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreyNomad27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

After a tiring walk from Patterdale to Shap we were glad to find The Hermitage one of the first properties we came to. It is a beautiful old home full of character, set in a well tended garden. Jean was kind enough to dry out our wet clothing and boots whilst I had a hot bath.

Our room was large, bright, airy and very quiet overnight. Jean provides a very good breakfast.

Shap itself is not too stimulating but the meals in the nearby Kings Arms where both reasonably priced and very tasty.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeWobbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shap
0.4 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Shap
85 reviews
3.8 mi away
Shap Wells Hotel
6.4 mi away
Tebay Services Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Old School - Tebay
0.1 mi away
New Ing Lodge, Shap
10.1 mi away
Old Water View
Old Water View
#5 of 12 in Patterdale
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage

Address: The Hermitage Main Street, Shap CA10 3LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Shap
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Shap
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Hermitage Shap, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing