We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shap Abbey

Shap Abbey
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Shap
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Walked though the ruins whilst on C2C walk into Shap it is worth reading a little about the history before going as little info on site.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank StPolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    31
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wandel
Level Contributor
302 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Free entry, google the history before you get there”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

A lovely little peaceful site which is a nice detour if you're taking the scenic route rather than the motorway. Limited signage doesn't really give much history about the people who were there and there was no internet reception - suggest you check it out before you get there to make the most of your visit. The local cafe mentioned in other reviews was shut on our visit but 5-10 mins away is a fab community owned pub called the Butcher's Arms in Crosby Ravensthwaite (I have no connection to the business apart from being a satisfied customer). Lovely walks around the area, all well marked. Look out for the lovely tile detail on the post next to the gate!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I had no idea...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Having grown up in Kendal and driven through Shap countless times, I never got round to visiting the Abbey until I was 31. I'm glad I finally got round to it. It's on the small side compared with the likes of Fountains Abbey but really interesting nonetheless and benefits from being off the main tourist trail in all its secluded and peaceful glory. Great for firing the imaginations of young children.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Loulabelle2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“worth the walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Very impressive Abbey ruins, with many parts dating from the 13th century. We walked across from Keld and the view of the Abbey from across the fields is very picturesque.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 1000_Angela_1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Not much to see, but worth a visit if in the area...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Glad we went and saw Shap Abbey. Good history, but not loads to see. Although there is no tea shop or toilets, there is a great cafe close by, (Abbey Coffee Shop). The drive to Shap Abbey was also good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SLeeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shap Abbey also viewed

 
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Shap Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing