We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit”
Review of Shap Wells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shap Wells Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shap
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Stayed at the Shap Wells for the second time this year whilst we were up North on business, the dinner, bed and breakfast being very very good value for money. The food once again was excellent, piping hot, tasty and plentiful......with the option of vegetables and salad rather than just a huge pile of chips (which after a fortnight of living in hotels and seemingly surviving off chips, having vegetables and salad was a BiG bonus) Last night there were two large coach parties of pensioners, so the hotel was full, but the staff were great with everybody, the friendly banter between some of the younger members of staff and their older guests was hilarious, everybody clearly enjoying themselves.
The room although smallish, was cosy and comfortable, however, the bathroom was big enough to have a party, with the bath long enough to swim lengths in!
The ONLY aspect stopping this hotel getting 5 stars is the wifi speed. My parents dial-up is faster, for a hotel offering business facilities, they really do need to up the speed up to something to that is at least workable.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank JacquelineIreland_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julian p, Guest Relations Manager at Shap Wells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you for your review I was very pleased to read it was your " Second Visit " this year and you were able to write a very positive review.
The Hotel changes its Business mix throughout the year and during your visit we had a couple of groups of guests on a 5 Day 4 Night holiday and they too gave us good feedback on their stay.
I have noted your comments on the WIFI and passed them onto our Broadband service provider.
We are 5 miles from the nearest exchange and being located where we are does prove difficult to provide a very fast service.
Once again thank you for your comments and I hope we will see you for a third time in the near future.

Regards

Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

821 - 827 of 1,172 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

This place takes "off the beaten track" to a new level, so probably not somewhere to visit via public transport. A surprisingly well appointed hotel in the middle of nowhere, surrounded by babbling brooks and waterfalls, somewhere to unwind and take it easy. Lots of lounges and quiet corners where you enjoy a drink or a selection from a reasonably priced bar menu. I was on business so was not able to try out the restaurant. Reception and Bar service was pretty much second to none (though I did have to hang around a bit in the evening because the barman had disappeared - probably to escape the lounge "singer") The problem with high-spec décor is that it tends to outlast its fashionability, so yes it appears a little dated, but in this instance it is a reminder that quality and service still matter, rather than as in some cases, being a euphemism for dirty and dingy. The only downer is the awful "entertainment" in the bar - aged warbler who sings flat and keeps switching octaves to try and stay with her backing tracks - one song she managed to start on the 7th harmony and stay out of tune for the duration - if she's on, definitely an evening to go out! Country house hotel and Butlins don't really mix!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
2  Thank phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julian p, Guest Relations Manager at Shap Wells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent stay with us here at the Hotel.
I was disappointed you didnt enjoy the entertainment provided by our Singer ..... whilst you were staying with us we had 2 Groups and part of their package was we provide 3 nights Entertainment I am sorry it wasnt to your liking but other guests staying thought she was very good .... I think that comes down to personal taste.
Once again thank you for your comments.

Regards

Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Recently visited this Hotel for 5 nights, very comfortable rooms, helpful & friendly staff, and as for the meals excellent, food was well presented & with good choice both for breakfast & evening, beautiful surroundings & the plus side was seeing the Red Squirrels when they were fed after breakfast

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julian p, Guest Relations Manager at Shap Wells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Shapwells.
I was very pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay ..... our Red Squirrels do add an additional bonus to our guests and I was delighted you had the opportunity to see them.
Once again thank you for your excellent feedback.

Regards

Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My husband and myself booked a winter saver one night B&B break here. We felt we got a real bargain by booking this well in advance.
We arrived at the hotel and had quite a wait to check in as the couple in front of us had booked the wrong night and had to be allocated a room. The receptionist was very pleasant and booked us in quickly when she had sorted the other couple out. We booked a table for dinner then too.
Our room was large and clean and well maintained although pretty old fashioned looking. It even had a blanket on the bed instead of a duvet. The room was nice and warm with a view of the river.
Dinner was very good with large helpings - 3 courses and coffee for £21.95. Wine was available from about £16.50. The service was friendly and efficient. Breakfast was nice.
The hotel has lovely views and you can walk about in several directions. It is a nice relaxing place
to stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank sheils6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julian p, Guest Relations Manager at Shap Wells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about in your words a " lovely,friendly Hotel " I was very pleased to read you found the Hotel to be a nice relaxing place and you enjoyed your time with us.
Once again thank you for a very positive review.

Regards

Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Been here three times and as always enjoyed ourselves great breakfasts large comfortable warm rooms very clean and tidy ample bedding lovely countryside.All the staff are very cordial and friendly. Cant think of anything to complain about. So go there and find out for your selves you wont be disappointed .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick007Wirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julian p, Guest Relations Manager at Shap Wells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for such a fantastic review after your 3rd visit to us and I know it will not be your last after speaking to you on your departure.
Your recommendation for other future guests to visit us is much appreciated.
Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you at the Hotel very soon.

Regards

Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We were on a Woods Coaches holiday staying at this hotel for four nights. From the time time we arrived to the time we left we had an excellent time.
Do not be put off by what appears to be a farm track leading from the main road. The hotel suddenly appears, surrounded by woods and streams.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was bright and clean, appears recently redecorated. The evening meal was three course, with a choice of four items, then coffee or tea. Promptly and efficiently served. Breakfast was a self service either cold buffet and/or a hearty cooked meal.
The only sour point was an obnoxious tour guide with a Canadian party, who did nothing but complain about anything and every thing. We felt sorry for the staff who were on the butt of his complaints. Luckily he was gone on the second day. If he wanted 5star Savoy service, then he should have taken them there.
We can not praise more highly the stay we experienced and will be returning again.
A high point was the colony of Red Squirrels, which we fed in the morning, they were posing for photographs.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martyngate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julian p, Guest Relations Manager at Shap Wells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for your review after your recent 4 Night stay at the Hotel I was delighted to read you had an excellent stay with us.
Your comments are extremely positive and with you wanting to return shows we certainly met and surpassed your expectations and I will of course share your feedback with the Team.
The Red Squirrels are a major attraction at the Hotel and they happily let our guests photograph them.
Once again thank you for taking the time to put your feedback in writing.

Regards

Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

have just returned from the shap wells soul weekender march 2014 and have to say it was brilliant.the hotel was was very friendly and the staff were very welcoming,the rooms were very clean and tidy and tea and coffee in the room was great.the food was very good and the full english was great for the next morning so all in all a very enjoyable weekend was had and looking forward for the next time we visit next year

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kentheroofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julian p, Guest Relations Manager at Shap Wells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

We held our Annual Soul Weekender once again in March and yet again it proved a big hit to all our Weekender guests.
Thank you for your very positive comments which I will of course share with the Team. The Soul Weekender in 2015 will be the weekend of 13/14 March we look forward to seeing you again at that event.
Once again thank you for your review.

Regards

Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shap
3.4 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Shap
86 reviews
12.8 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
12.7 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#9 of 11 in Penrith
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Tebay Services Hotel
13.3 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#12 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,087 reviews
11 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shap Wells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shap Wells Hotel

Address: between the A6 and B6261 | Nr Penrith, Shap CA10 3QU, England (Formerly Best Western Shap Wells Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Shap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shap
Price Range: £37 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shap Wells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Shap Wells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Penrith
Penrith Best Western
Shap Wells Hotel Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing