We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kings Arms Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$175
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$243
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
32
38
10
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
38
10
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiethe pubevening mealcumberland sausagepacked lunchstayed here for one nightfish and chipsgood nights sleepbreakfast was excellentkirkby stephenluggagepubsdogcottage
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stopped over during July 2013. Having being spoilt in the lakes my initial impressions on entering the hotel were not good, but I was soon taken in by the friendliness of the locals, fellow travellers and the hosts. The room was good, as was the bar meal (great ribs) and the breakfast. Intend to return later in the year as a base for some of the Far Eastern Fells.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We were doing the Coast to Coast in May 2013 and stayed in this hotel after the only other hotel where we were booked had closed and the proprietor took off! We arrived early and were told sharply by the man behind the counter that he supposed we could go to the room but not to expect the heater or anything else, as check in was at 4:00pm. We saud we would be happy to have a drink in the bar to which he said 'NO' and we were sent up to our unheated room, there were other people in the bar so we are not sure why we were not able to have a drink. We were also told that diner would be difficult because there was a 'function' on and that the kitchen would be busy but they would see what they could do. The function was the local football night which was good natured enough. The meal was ordinary, and we were in a group of about 9 walkers (all staying elsewhere) who all felt unwelcome in this place.

The room was okay with a comfy bed. Breakfast saw me paying 5 pound more for the very same breakfast as the local person who paid his bill at the same time. We asked about lunch as well as we had a short walk but were told that they had yet another function and that this was booked out. We waited outside and about 12 peope went in and that was it. They really do not like walkers in this pub and I would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Petermelr0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Pleasant stay. Very functional place, a bit "plastic pub" feel to it for my liking. But food was good and room was clean. Shap just doesn't seem to have any of the charm of the other villages on the walk.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Excellent place to stay, staff all great and we were made really welcome. C2C path opposite the pub. Good food and the place had a really nice atmosphere. Will be staying here again. All rooms we booked were clean and tidy with the heating on.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Spacious en suite room with large bathroom (nice hot shower). Modern decor and comfortable bed. They didn't serve food the evening we stayed but the landlord was up front about that when we booked, plus there are other places to eat, including a great fish and chip restaurant.
The juke box was on until 10 ish and is audible from the rooms over the bar. Not an issue if you sleep like a log.
Great breakfast and a good value packed lunch for a fiver. Warning to coffee purists my pot was instant so tea may be the safer option.
Otherwise a good place to stay if you are doing the C2C.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birdovski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews