We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth the short trip from the motorway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kings Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kings Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Shap
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well worth the short trip from the motorway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Two tired travellers, we arrived here late in the night on a previous trip. Soon felt at home with a lovely meal. My husband watched the soccer (kept his Liverpool affiliation quiet) whilst I had an early night. The host cooked us a beaut breakfast the next day, and kept us company. It was Guy Fawkes night and the "highlight" was two youngsters who started a fire. Would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a local feel with lovely refurbished rooms and a friendly environment. We will definitely be reliving this on our next trip.

Room Tip: Double glazing on windows meant our front room was still quiet and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 448Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    34
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
11
24
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

I cant vouch for the food as I have never eaten here however I have been in many times over the years and the staff cant be faulted, friendly and always willing to go the extra mile for the coast to coast walkers, also a favourite pub for the locals. The rooms are nice and modern also. The back of the Hotel/Pub offers a nice garden area, lovely to relax with a beer on a sunny day!. I would suggest however to check if there is any entertainment happening in the Pub on your arrival date, as it can get quite busy and loud, maybe not ideal if you have a quiet and relaxing weekend planned!.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Popsy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stopped over during July 2013. Having being spoilt in the lakes my initial impressions on entering the hotel were not good, but I was soon taken in by the friendliness of the locals, fellow travellers and the hosts. The room was good, as was the bar meal (great ribs) and the breakfast. Intend to return later in the year as a base for some of the Far Eastern Fells.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We were doing the Coast to Coast in May 2013 and stayed in this hotel after the only other hotel where we were booked had closed and the proprietor took off! We arrived early and were told sharply by the man behind the counter that he supposed we could go to the room but not to expect the heater or anything else, as check in was at 4:00pm. We saud we would be happy to have a drink in the bar to which he said 'NO' and we were sent up to our unheated room, there were other people in the bar so we are not sure why we were not able to have a drink. We were also told that diner would be difficult because there was a 'function' on and that the kitchen would be busy but they would see what they could do. The function was the local football night which was good natured enough. The meal was ordinary, and we were in a group of about 9 walkers (all staying elsewhere) who all felt unwelcome in this place.

The room was okay with a comfy bed. Breakfast saw me paying 5 pound more for the very same breakfast as the local person who paid his bill at the same time. We asked about lunch as well as we had a short walk but were told that they had yet another function and that this was booked out. We waited outside and about 12 peope went in and that was it. They really do not like walkers in this pub and I would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petermelr0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Pleasant stay. Very functional place, a bit "plastic pub" feel to it for my liking. But food was good and room was clean. Shap just doesn't seem to have any of the charm of the other villages on the walk.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Excellent place to stay, staff all great and we were made really welcome. C2C path opposite the pub. Good food and the place had a really nice atmosphere. Will be staying here again. All rooms we booked were clean and tidy with the heating on.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Spacious en suite room with large bathroom (nice hot shower). Modern decor and comfortable bed. They didn't serve food the evening we stayed but the landlord was up front about that when we booked, plus there are other places to eat, including a great fish and chip restaurant.
The juke box was on until 10 ish and is audible from the rooms over the bar. Not an issue if you sleep like a log.
Great breakfast and a good value packed lunch for a fiver. Warning to coffee purists my pot was instant so tea may be the safer option.
Otherwise a good place to stay if you are doing the C2C.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdovski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shap
3.4 mi away
Shap Wells Hotel
5.9 mi away
Tebay Services Hotel
Tebay Services Hotel
#2 of 11 in Penrith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
9.8 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Old School - Tebay
9.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
8.7 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Arms Hotel

Property: Kings Arms Hotel
Address: Main Street, Shap CA10 3NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Shap
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Shap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Arms Hotel Shap, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing