We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly OK and tasty food”
Review of Kings Arms Hotel

Kings Arms Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kings Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Shap
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Shap was the fifth overnight stop on our coast to coast walk. Shap is a bleak looking place and it has nothing much going for it. It was once the main route from England to Scotland but since the arrival of the M6 there seems to be little reason for its existence except for a factory that produces lime for the steel industry. The road is flanked by less than cheery looking buildings. There are three pubs, a post-office and a co-op store. So, having arrived at the Kings Arms, we decided that we might as well stay there for dinner too rather than searching in vain among the myriad ofe local flesh pots. Check-in is from 3pm onwards. The Kings Arms is that very rare breed of establishment. It does not have a website – a pity, because it undersells itself. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hosts and Dave and Theresa.

The Kings Arms is a walker/cyclist friendly establishment. They have a drying room for your wet clothes and boots. Not many places do. After a major refurbishment of the hotel in 2006, the accommodation has a contemporary design. Our room was clean, neat and there was a comfortable bed. Our room had all of the usual facilities: a flat screen TV, tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer, complimentary toiletries and luxury towels. We were particularly pleased with the power shower. The bar is rather Spartan and there is not a great deal of atmosphere. There is the dreaded Sky Sports and a pool table, but these are sufficiently far away from where we dined not to intrude. There was a typical pub-food menu with all the English favourites: fish and chips, Lancashire hotpot, steak and ale pie, etc. The big surprise was that the food was exceptionally good. I had fish and chips and my wife had steak pie. The food was well cooked, tasty and fantastic value for money. It was the cheap-est place we ate at during our coast to coast walk but the quality was high. The fish was perfectly cooked and it was a large fillet of cod. The chips were perfect. My wife‘s steak pie was not served up in one of those annoying dishes, perched menacingly on a dinner plate, that are convenient for the restaurant but bad news for the diner. This was a large slab of pie full of perfectly cooked beef, and lots of it. She thought it one of the best steak pies she has eaten in a pub. They do packed lunches at around £4.95 per person. We were very satisfied with our stay and I suspect that you would not find anywhere else as good in Shap.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for Kings Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Looks like this place has been returned! It's spacious, clean, well laid out. The staff are very very welcoming and friendly. The rooms have ensuite facilities and the shower decent. Towels soft and fluffy. Bed linen crisp and decor modern. For the price it's perfect. Breakfast was consistent and the full English cooked well (big portion tho) beer garden at the back is a nice sun trap. Great base to explore! Food served on the menu has plenty of options... It's pub food - large portions, well cooked but nothing special but then priced at £6 a meal not composing. Recommend

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllstarAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Two tired travellers, we arrived here late in the night on a previous trip. Soon felt at home with a lovely meal. My husband watched the soccer (kept his Liverpool affiliation quiet) whilst I had an early night. The host cooked us a beaut breakfast the next day, and kept us company. It was Guy Fawkes night and the "highlight" was two youngsters who started a fire. Would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a local feel with lovely refurbished rooms and a friendly environment. We will definitely be reliving this on our next trip.

Room Tip: Double glazing on windows meant our front room was still quiet and cozy.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 448Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I cant vouch for the food as I have never eaten here however I have been in many times over the years and the staff cant be faulted, friendly and always willing to go the extra mile for the coast to coast walkers, also a favourite pub for the locals. The rooms are nice and modern also. The back of the Hotel/Pub offers a nice garden area, lovely to relax with a beer on a sunny day!. I would suggest however to check if there is any entertainment happening in the Pub on your arrival date, as it can get quite busy and loud, maybe not ideal if you have a quiet and relaxing weekend planned!.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Popsy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stopped over during July 2013. Having being spoilt in the lakes my initial impressions on entering the hotel were not good, but I was soon taken in by the friendliness of the locals, fellow travellers and the hosts. The room was good, as was the bar meal (great ribs) and the breakfast. Intend to return later in the year as a base for some of the Far Eastern Fells.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We were doing the Coast to Coast in May 2013 and stayed in this hotel after the only other hotel where we were booked had closed and the proprietor took off! We arrived early and were told sharply by the man behind the counter that he supposed we could go to the room but not to expect the heater or anything else, as check in was at 4:00pm. We saud we would be happy to have a drink in the bar to which he said 'NO' and we were sent up to our unheated room, there were other people in the bar so we are not sure why we were not able to have a drink. We were also told that diner would be difficult because there was a 'function' on and that the kitchen would be busy but they would see what they could do. The function was the local football night which was good natured enough. The meal was ordinary, and we were in a group of about 9 walkers (all staying elsewhere) who all felt unwelcome in this place.

The room was okay with a comfy bed. Breakfast saw me paying 5 pound more for the very same breakfast as the local person who paid his bill at the same time. We asked about lunch as well as we had a short walk but were told that they had yet another function and that this was booked out. We waited outside and about 12 peope went in and that was it. They really do not like walkers in this pub and I would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Petermelr0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Pleasant stay. Very functional place, a bit "plastic pub" feel to it for my liking. But food was good and room was clean. Shap just doesn't seem to have any of the charm of the other villages on the walk.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shap
3.4 mi away
Shap Wells Hotel
9.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
7.3 mi away
The Old School - Tebay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
411 reviews
10.2 mi away
Roundthorn Country House
8.7 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Arms Hotel

Address: Main Street, Shap CA10 3NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Shap
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Shap
Price Range: £80 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Arms Hotel Shap, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing