We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good start for C2C”
Review of Stonehouse Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stonehouse Farm
Ranked #1 of 9 St Bees B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Good start for Coast to Coast walk, arrived after 9 pm no where to get any food had to drive on to Whitehaven. Was given a large triple room with en-suite, excellent breakfast and very pleasant host.

Close to station but about half mile from beach for start of walk.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroletracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

The best place to stay at the start of the Coast to Coast walk. This was our second stay at Stonehouse Farm and it was even better than the first. We stayed in Grandpa's cottage which was a self contained cottage and it was lovely, the perfect place to relax as our journey via the railways was stressful and we ended up getting to St Bees much later than expected.
The breakfast the following morning was excellent. Lots of choice and well cooked.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luciedog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed here at the beginning and end of our C2C cycle trip. On both occasions we received a warm welcome. We stayed in different rooms each occasion, the second being the self contained cottage and both were spotless, warm and relaxing. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice and plenty of it. Would definitely like to stay here again.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We were five ladiesand a dog on our first attempt at the C2C and this was our jumping off point. We stayed in the little self-contained studio and a room in the main house. Great breakfast and a good send-off in the morning were a grand start to our 12 day odyssey. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Dogs allowed in the studio apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariadenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

What a perfect start to our first C2C! That is exactly how we felt six years ago when we started our first crossing. Since then we have completed many more C2C trips, plus numerous more leisurely trips to St. Bees, and would not even think of staying anywhere else. So easy to find and always seems like home to us. Lovely, comfortable rooms, great breakfasts, wonderful hosts who will provide anything you need, and a beautiful coastal village. Each time we must leave, we count the days until our return! Fabulous B & B!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Stayed here on a business trip in Cumbria for 2 nights in the recently renovated "loft room" which is a self contained self catering flat
Excellent space and facilities with full kitchen and dining area along with luxurious new bathroom
Breakfast served in the main farmhouse was excellent with full array of cereals and fruit and juice followed by cooked breakfast if you want it
Located in the Main Street at st bees with close bars and a choice of great places to eat
I have already reserved the room for my next business trip

Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

recently stayed at Stonehouse Farm St Bees, run by Carol, we have stayed here numerous times over the years, too many to mention! Recent stay was 21st October, 2012, warm friendly atmosphere, lovely breakfast, room was spotless, as always, Denise and David Kirkby

Room Tip: lovely room very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denise321238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Bees
0.1 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 3 in St Bees
170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seacote Hotel
Seacote Hotel
#3 of 3 in St Bees
447 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lulu's Bistro - Old Station House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Thorntrees Bed and Breakfast
Thorntrees Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 7 in Ennerdale Bridge
105 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ellerbeck Manor
Ellerbeck Manor
#5 of 9 in St Bees
50 reviews
17.9 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rosthwaite
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonehouse Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonehouse Farm

Address: 133 Main Street, St Bees CA27 0DE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > St Bees
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in St Bees
Price Range: £68 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stonehouse Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm, friendly atmosphere guaranteed at this comfortable modern Georgian farmhouse. All rooms en-suite with TV. Situated in the centre of the village, close to all amenities and only 50 yds from St Bees railway station. Long stay parking is available for you to enjoy the Coast to Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Stonehouse Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonehouse Farm St Bees, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing