We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate and average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Queens Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Bees
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Queens Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 St Bees B&B and Inns
Harrogate
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Adequate and average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Stayed for one night at the start of a coast to coast mountain bike ride. It was pleasant and clean but the food was very average and service a bit haphazard.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beancounter27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    22
    12
    12
    9
See reviews for
14
22
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

Just come back from delicious meal at the queens hotel. Stating in b and b in st bees before we start our c to c walk tomorrow. What a brilliant start - really delicious food, so many things I could have chosen off the menu and the mushroom Wellington I did choose was delicious - as was the homemade apple crumble. Lovely relaxing start to our trip - will be perfect if everywhere was to the same standard.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desal65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

i have a caravan in st bees and me and my sister went on a long walk and the when passing the queens hotel decided to go in for a drink we asked if they could do two irish coffees yes was the answer and we waited and waited and then we got them i cant decribe what we got they were awful so they said we will do them again and got even worse ones ,what a joke . we will not be recommending it to our friends and family when they use our caravan ,its a shame because it is a nice hotel dcor wise and a nice garden to sit in in the summer get better staff and you v cracked it .

Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank catwomenengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St Bees hotels

aldershot
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

Have to agree with the last review, great food, friendly and helpfull staff, a good selection of beers and a free quiz on a thursday night which is well attended by both locals and residents. The last time i was there the landlord and landlady (Mark and Sue) did a great BBQ on a nice summers evening in the lovely garden at the rear of the hotel. The barmaid (Mandy) and all the staff could not do enough for everyone there. What a great place to stay in west cumbria.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank irishmickaldershot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

We’ve just returned from another enjoyable stay at the Queens, St Bee’s. Out of curiosity I’d checked Tripadvisor before leaving home. The reviews left me concerned that hitherto excellent standards had slipped since our last stay in July 2010.
THEY HAVEN’T!!
So here are some facts.
In common with most of the hotels/B&B’s in St Bee’s the Queens is on the main road and there is a bit of noise at times but the eighteen inch thick walls do help and even at busy times such as this weekend we slept well.
The Queens “Hotel” is a 17th century pub. Since taking over a few years ago the present owners have rescued this lovely building and refurbishment is ongoing. As well as B&B the pub has two bars and offers restaurant standard food at pub prices, making it very popular with locals as well as tourists and walkers.
LETTING ROOMS; one wing have been refurbished, the other side awaits work. This is fairly obvious but the difference IS reflected in the price. Our favourite is room 12 which has the most comfortable bed I’ve ever slept in. This room costs £67 per night. In our experience this represents excellent value compared to similar places we’ve stayed at.
This weekend was the Whitehaven Festival and as all of the “new” rooms were booked we settled for an “old” room. Room 10 is a spacious room containing two double beds. Yes, it would benefit from redecoration and the furnishing is a bit hard-worn but the bedding was spotless and the towels sparklingly white as were the bathroom tiles. Finding an iron in the room was a nice extra. For £54 per night I doubt you’d get better in St Bee’s. or anywhere else.
BREAKFAST; in common with many other B&B’s you’re asked to tick a form asking what you’d like for breakfast; no hardship, makes breakfast service quick and efficient.. FULL English brecky is offered i.e. you choose any or ALL of ; juice, cereal, “fry up” to include bacon, egg, sausages, mushrooms, black pudding, tomatoes, beans, fried bread and toast with preserves. Oh, and the quality was very good too! You are certainly not restricted to cereal OR cooked as other reviewers have stated.
RESTAURANT; reassuringly popular (so many locals can’t be wrong) so best to book. Good varied menu plus daily specials. Excellent quality and value with most mains under £10 . My favourite was a- breast of chicken stuffed with a mushroom duxelle and cooked in pastry. The house-made steak & ale pie was equally delicious.
The STAFF we found to be friendly, helpful and hard working .

Sorry if this review is a bit long but I’ve attempted to give an honest and factual account of the Queens to help anyone considering a stay. I’m truly bewildered by some of the earlier reviews and feel that they raise many questions including;
i. At least 4 of the most negative reviews are from people who by their own admission have never actually stayed at the Queens - how are they qualified to comment in the B&B section of Tripadvisor?

ii. What do people expect from a reasonably priced 17th century B&B in a beautiful village setting? If you want a standardised room in a purpose built modern chain hotel don’t come to St Bee’s there are none. And if there were you’d pay a lot more than £54.
Ii. How important is it to have a toilet roll holder in your bathroom - personally I thought this an exceptionally petty point; if that’s the only thing you’ve got to complain about……….........

Room Tip: Rooms at back less subject to road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank skiingCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

I did not stay at the hotel-- I did however eat at the restaurant. The food was amazing.

I had a warm feta and chickpea salad to start. Absolutely fantastic. And then in true British fashion-- for my main it was fish n chips :)

The wait staff were attentive and friendly, and they had a great selection of ales.

Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelinMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

Poor booking comunication after first contact email.
Nice clean rooms in the newer side of the hotel with comfy beds and nice bathrooms, good pub to spend the night in (friendly helpfull locals) but bill was wrong (over charged on what was agreed) and as we set off early no one about so had to pay the cleaner.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiddlyDodds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Bees
0.0 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 3 in St Bees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seacote Hotel
Seacote Hotel
#2 of 3 in St Bees
3.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
19.7 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ennerdale Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Lulu's Bistro - Old Station House
0.6 mi away
Ellerbeck Manor
Ellerbeck Manor
#4 of 9 in St Bees
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Property: Queens Hotel
Address: Main Street, St Bees CA27 0DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > St Bees
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in St Bees
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel St Bees, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing