We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Queens Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Bees
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Queens Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 St Bees B&B and Inns
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

A group of 8 of us stayed for 3 nights while walking the Cumbria Coastal Path. The only real quibble we had was that breakfast was served between 7.00 am - 8.00 am which was a bit too early for our liking, especially as we had enjoyed good helpings of their beer and wine each previous evening. The rooms were very good value for the charge of £54.00 per twin including a decent breakfast, and the hotel is only about 150 yards from St Bees station, giving easy access to the west coast of Cumbria. A good base for exploring the less visited side of the Lake District.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for one of the rooms which have been refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    24
    12
    12
    9
See reviews for
14
23
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Stayed here as the night before starting the coast to coast cycle ride. Lovely windy street location, staff were incredibly friendly and accommodating. Stored our bikes with no problems. Our room was a twin with ensuite and was truly lovely - bed was comfy and the bathroom really big! Pub downstairs is really nice too and nice selection of ales. Great value too, not expensive at all. All in all very good!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Room was excellent, cosy, clean, spacious and well equipped aswell as en-suite, great service from the young lads in the bar, great food.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We booked our room via email, and were quoted a price. The room we were allocated turned out to cost 20 pounds more than we had agreed. They insisted we pay the higher price, but we stood by our original booking price. I'd read about this kind of "mistake" in one other review of this hotel, and fear it may be common among one night occupants.

Otherwise, the carpeted bathrooom was a bit strange, as was wheeling our bikes through the kitchen for overnight storage.

Would probably try somewhere else first next time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Papuks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St Bees hotels

Darlington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Having stayed in several hotels in cumbria through work commitments, I found this little gem in a nice village called St Bees. I enjoyed one nights stay here in March 2012.
The rooms were all named after places/Lakes around the Lake district, I stayed in a double room on the 1st floor for one evening (Room name Thirlmere/Room 12) The room itself was clean and tidy with flat screen tv with freeview and the bed was very comfortable.
The bathroom was modern with good space and a decent shower, My only gripe with the bathroom was that the shower curtain was disgusting, It was covered in mould and could possibly have been hanging there since the hotel opened, This is a minor fault but when the rest of the hotel seems to have attention to detail i was surprised when something like this could be rectified quickly.
The food and service was some of the best i've witnessed in cumbria and nothing was too much of a problem.
The bar area is good with an excellent choice of drinks and sky tv.
Breakfast was really nice also and set me up for the day.
All in all a well run establishment with a couple of attention to detail faults, I would reccommend this hotel and would stay here again if i was to be back in the area.

Room Tip: New part of hotel and ask for new shower curtains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I just dropped in after a mile walk to get myself some Dinner.

Lovely place and the food was excellent. Steak ale pie was recommendend and afterwards a good pint at the pub section.

Plenty of room and tables, and even a nice garden.
The people of the queens where very kind.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freddy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2012

The Queens Hotel in St. Bees, Cumbria , Uk is an excellent choice of place to stay and eat while in St. Bees. This hotel is run by a couple who certainly know what they are doing and they ensure that everything is up to a high standard. This Hotel has an incredible team working for them to ensure that all customers who come to visit if only to drop in for food or perhaps to stay. The choice of menus from midday to the evening menus within the bar lounge are excellent. They also have fine dining available on special evenings. The Hotel boasts staff from Housekeeping to Customer services with pure effiency.
They are most accomadating and helpful, weather its making a query to go and sightsee or if you need help with anything. The Hotel is situated few minutes up from St. Bees Tran Station. The building is old world and a beautiful attraction to visit. The choice of foods will leave your taste buds wanting to go back for more. There is a beautiful conservatory style room within the Lounge, and they boast a beautiful garden out back, with beautiful plants and birds singing in the back ground. In summer they do BBQ'S. They have a Quiz night and its free of charge and its great for those wishing to test their minds while having fun. A prize is offered to the winning team. During the various months and seasons they hold different events. The Decor is beautiful and the fireplace is an added addition that everyone will want to sit around on the colder winter nights. If you are a coffee lover then this is the place to have your fair trade coffees. If its a New Years event, or that private wedding you wish for heres the place to be with Marquees put up for your every wish. The Owner and staff enter events to raise monies for local charities and I believe they came 2nd again this year. So if your looking for a place to rest, while enjoying the culinary delights of Cumbria, and welcoming staff. Then look no further.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nomad2012186621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Bees
0.5 mi away
Seacote Hotel
Seacote Hotel
#3 of 3 in St Bees
433 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ennerdale Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Lulu's Bistro - Old Station House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rosthwaite
260 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 3 in St Bees
161 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ellerbeck Manor
Ellerbeck Manor
#5 of 9 in St Bees
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Property: Queens Hotel
Address: Main Street, St Bees CA27 0DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > St Bees
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in St Bees
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel St Bees, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing