We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food great, room not so much.”
Review of Queens Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Bees
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Queens Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 St Bees B&B and Inns
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Food great, room not so much.”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Myself & my wife were part of a group that was starting the Coast to Coast walk and we stayed at the Queens Hotel for two nights. Our room was on the first floor at the back with a view of the garden. It was a double but had very little space and the bathroom was very tiny. Overall we found the room overwhelmingly depressing, although perhaps it's the management's hope that you'll be downstairs in the bar and therefore hardly notice. The quality & quantity of the food however was very good and the service friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OB-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    24
    12
    12
    9
See reviews for
14
23
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Myself and 8 colleagues stayed for one night before we started our coast to coast cycle ride.
Everyone commented on how nice the rooms were.
The bar serves good quality food at a reasonable price and the breakfast served was good too.
If I were to stay in st.bees again, I would not hesitate in booking the queens hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Only stayed here one night, the room was huge with two double beds, but was right over the kitchen. The bathroom was tiny and the shower was poor, there was no way to stop the water leaking onto the floor so spent significant time on hands and knees mopping it up. It was also right above the kitchen, so the smells drifted up, but as the food was good it wasn't too much of a problem.
The staff were friendly and welcoming, although breakfast is served strictly between 7-8 during the week, which seems faintly ridiculous. To the point where at 6.59 or 08.01 you'll find the doors locked to the dining area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nat1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

This a fine hotel within walking distance of the train station.Three friends and I were beginning the coast to coast bike ride from St Bees to Sunderland. We had four bikes to store which was no trouble to do for the friendly welcoming staff. We were then showed our roms (two twins). They were very clean and the bathroom sparkled! The beds were soft and comfortable and there was plent of hot water and a shower. We went downstairs for a pint of beer and ordered our food. We ordered two Toad in the hole and two lamb shanks. The food arrived and the portins were substantial and very good quality stuff, they also had a list for breakfast the day after and the choice was astounding. Nice staff,rooms and food I can highly recommend this place!!

Room Tip: Wewere on the roadside which I think all the rooms are, but the noise was minimal,if they were rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluebellSheffieldUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We booked in here for an overnight stay after a coast to coast scooter run. The hotel was excellent, the staff were very good, nothing seemed too much. We had a meal in the evening it was excellent, great value for money.

Room Tip: We stayed in the family room, very spacious with two double beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HartlepoolPooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

Excellent food, tidy rooms and a great host on a very busy night. We had booked this room just as a place to rest our heads and it turned out much better than expected.

We had ridden from Saltburn on our vintage scooters and had no real expectation of the booking and certainly never expected what we received in the way of food especially.

We arrived late and we were catered for and the place was really busy. The staff were helpful and found the time to ensure you were happy. The food menu was extensive with fresh well cooked produce. A totally unexpected bonus. The breakfast was large and warm, fresh and just what we needed for a long ride home ack to the Midlands.

The room had been freshly done up to a good standard and the bed was comfortable in a warm room with a good shower. The interior was clean, fresh and a fitting reflection of what seems to be a real project for the owners. The s a real feel that thy are really trying to create a really nice establish in quite a less pretty area of the Lakes.

Would use again and would recommend for anyone staying in the town as a great base to explore the area or start the Coast2Coast.

There were no airs and graces but it ticked all the boxes for our event.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AttitudewithStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Eleven of us from our cricket club stayed two nights at the Queens Hotel St Bees.,
26th and 27th of October 2012.Everything was superb, the rooms, the food,
the beer,The staff were very good,and could not have been more helpfuil.
A great time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrc86_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Bees
0.0 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 3 in St Bees
157 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seacote Hotel
Seacote Hotel
#3 of 3 in St Bees
424 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ennerdale Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lulu's Bistro - Old Station House
0.6 mi away
Ellerbeck Manor
Ellerbeck Manor
#5 of 9 in St Bees
48 reviews
17.9 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rosthwaite
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Property: Queens Hotel
Address: Main Street, St Bees CA27 0DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > St Bees
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in St Bees
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel St Bees, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing