We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not recommend!”

Fairladies Barn Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Bees
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fairladies Barn Guest House
Ranked #9 of 9 St Bees B&B and Inns
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will not recommend!”
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Stayed here as part of a group; room smelled damp; tried to alter shower height (communal shower), it fell off wall onto me. Some sort of renovation going on in the bathroom as cupboard next to shower was open with DIY bits in it, when I tried to report the shower to owners no one answered my knock. Told the young girl at breakfast who seemed quite un concerned about it.
Also there was dog mess in the area by the front door one of my fellow holiday companions kicked it to one side so no one trod in it!
Perhaps B & B's don't want to be disturbed, but they should at least have some procedure in place for any concerns.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    9
    15
    11
    9
See reviews for
9
16
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Whether its one night or two weeks this B&B is an excellent choice. Clean, friendly, warm and great value nothing is too much trouble for the lovely warm owners who are always more than happy to help with there local knowledge. A family run business that makes you feel at home. I definetly recommend that when in St Bees or the surrounding area book in here and enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herewego97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

this place looked lovely on the 'net, however it was quite disappointing. Inside the main house it is a bit dark and dreary. there was water damage to the ceiling in our room and there was a general feeling of 'run-down-ness'. There were odd bits of personal furniture, toys and clothing cluttering up what would have been a large, impressive landing.
The breakfast was poor and the coffee was worse. Such a shame, because i reckon with a little cash and some love put into this place it could be lovely. owner was really friendly and st bees was nice. a few pubs and a wonderful bistro, but i wouldnt stay at the fairladies barn again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J700JAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St Bees hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

This guesthouse is very conveniently located in the heart of St. Bees. The rooms are comfortable. The proprietors were very welcoming and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Request in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emf45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Can't agree with the previous reviews. My room was a single and appeared to be a converted cellar hence no windows and stale air. Entered from outside down stairs.

Didn't see inside main building except for dining room which was average as was the breakfast. Management not overly friendly. Very drab building from outside.

Far better choices in St Bees like Abbey Farm.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussie5514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Arrived Friday tea-time, made to feel very welcome. Allocated our rooms.
we had a lovel room in what appeard to be a tastefully converted barn just around the corner from the main Guest house. The Oddfellows pub is situated close-by for a great pint (or two) !!.
We stayed Friday and Saturday night having had two great night's sleep and thoroughly enjoyable breakfasts.
I would thoroughly recommend the Fairladies Barn.

Room Tip: Room was very comfortable and a lovely Breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2011

Having stayed at Fairladies in June for the last three years, we are really looking forward to our next annual visit in a few weeks time. The owners - Will & Nicola - have helped to make our time in St Bees most pleasurable. Guaranteed a warm welcome, they are very friendly and always willing to help, which along with their useful local knowledge of taxis, pubs,etc ensures a most enjoyable time. The rooms are well equipped, comfortable and clean. The food and service at breakfast is excellent with local produce for the traditional English - no synthetic stuff here!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobG0354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Bees hotels
0.6 mi away
Seacote Hotel
Seacote Hotel
#3 of 3 in St Bees
433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lulu's Bistro - Old Station House
0.1 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 3 in St Bees
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ellerbeck Manor
Ellerbeck Manor
#5 of 9 in St Bees
49 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Fairladies Barn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairladies Barn Guest House

Property: Fairladies Barn Guest House
Address: Main Street, St Bees CA27 0AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > St Bees
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in St Bees
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Fairladies Barn Guest House St Bees, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing