We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best place.”

Fairladies Barn Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Bees
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fairladies Barn Guest House
Ranked #9 of 9 St Bees B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Room was comfortable enough if a little shabby. Breakfast was ok nothing special although I found the mining pictures displayed in the breakfast room rather depressing.Best thing about St.Bees is the path leading out of the place (C2C). I wouldn't stay here again at the far end of the high street which means an extra trek to get any food or the start of the coast to coast walk.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smudgercreole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my 2 small children and partner! On arrival we were greeted by Nicola and Will who showed us to our rooms. We had a 2 bed apartment with a seprate kitchen and shower room with toilet! We had no heating at the time, but the owner called out an emergency gas engineer and the matter was quickly sorted! We were greeted witha full English breakfast with tea or coffee every morning, and staff were extremely helpful, polite and down to earth!
Overall I had a fantastic stay at St Bee's, that we have decided to come back for a week during the summer!
Highly recommended

Daniel Doyle

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ddoyle79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We had stayed at the Fairladies Barn in 2002 and had enjoyed our stay very much, so when we needed to stay in St Bees again it was the natural choice, however I wished that we had read the reviews on trip advisor in advance.

The rooms that we were given were damp in feel and smell, towels that should have been used for rags, bed linen that was grubby and general decor less than acceptable. On trying to find a hair dryer my wife found a part eaten bag of Doritos, we found raisins all over the floor and the kettle looked brown in colour and would not use.

In the bathroom the toilet seat was hanging off, the basin tabs just dribbled when full on, there was only luke warm water from the shower and the cupboard next to the shower was full of junk including a previous guests sock.

We were hoping that the breakfast would make up for all the less that satisfactory points within the room, however how wrong could we be, the table was sticky and had not been cleaned and the cooked breakfast was poor to say the least.

To conclude we will never stay there again and would recommend that others think twice before booking.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Despite having a booking I don't think they were expecting us. We got a room but no key, they said the previous occupants had taken it. It was all a bit tired looking but the worst was the children of the house who thundered across the top floor making far too much noise until 2 or 3 in the morning. I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 789Francie789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

I visit the Lake district regularly on business and stay at various B&B's this is certainly the most disappointing I have stayed at. On walking into the room it seemed nice, however a few minutes in and it was not as nice as it appeared and lacked professionalism and cleanliness. The breakfast was ok, however as they boast about the breakfast on their website I have to say again it was disappointing there was not a lot on the plate for the cooked breakfast. What disappointed me most was the cleanliness and standard of the bathroom

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winfisw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed here on the night before we started the C2C walk, we were given a basement room, that was damp, the cups in the room had not been washed, generally not a nice experience. On the positive side we got a £60 refund from Mickledore who booked the accommodation for us. I definitely would not recommend Fairladies Barn.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrahamBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Stayed here at the beginning of our Coast to Coast walk - our room very nice, but noisy from the wind and heavy rain on the skylight. Nicola was very welcoming and the breakfast and packed lunch were good.

Fairladies is close to a couple of pubs where you can get great evening meals. Yes there were toys etc in the yard and foyer, but this is a family house you are staying in - if you prefer a sterile environment, then a hotel would be a better choice for you.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenni N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Bees hotels
0 mi away
Lulu's Bistro - Old Station House
0.5 mi away
Seacote Hotel
Seacote Hotel
#3 of 3 in St Bees
449 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 3 in St Bees
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ellerbeck Manor
Ellerbeck Manor
#5 of 9 in St Bees
50 reviews
0 mi away
Stonehouse Farm
Stonehouse Farm
#1 of 9 in St Bees
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairladies Barn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairladies Barn Guest House

Address: Main Street, St Bees CA27 0AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > St Bees
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in St Bees
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Fairladies Barn Guest House St Bees, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing