We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent meal”

Lulu's Bistro - Old Station House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lulu's Bistro - Old Station House
Ranked #3 of 9 St Bees B&B and Inns
Egremont, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Thank you for an excellent evening, delicious food, great ambiance and attentive hosts. Haven't visited Lulu's for a while and nearly forgot how much I enjoyed going there.
I will be back again very soon.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Neil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    11
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
21
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Maine
Level Contributor
252 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We spent a night here before setting off on the Coast to Coast and found it to be a very agreeable place. It's located right at the train station (the B&B is actually the old station building), which is very convenient for those arriving by train. It's also quite centrally located in the main part of St. Bee's, so you have easy access to the handful of sights in town, as well as the various pubs and the post office. It's about half a mile, via a straight shot down one road, to the beach. We found the staff at the B&B to be friendly. Our room was typically small, but it was quiet at night and the bed was very comfortable. It was one of the best nights of sleep we had in England. The bathroom was, as usual, small, but functional, with a nice (if - again - small) shower. We didn't have the cooked breakfast so I can't comment on that. We had the continental, which was just OK. There is also a restaurant right downstairs, which is a convenient dinner option. Overall we were pleased and would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaineScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Friendly welcome and lovely rooms.
We stayed here on the weekend deal - 2 nights stay for 2 people + £50 towards a meal in the Bistro for £140.00 -excellent value. There are three B&B ensuite rooms - all are of excellent standard - one of the rooms (Flying Scotsman) has low vaulted ceilings so if you are very tall this one might not be your first choice. We stayed in the room called Northern Belle -a light airy room overlooking the railway station. (Trains don't generally run in the night so don't worry about a disturbed nights sleep!). The three B&B rooms share a breakfast room area and on our deal, breakfast was provided (but not a cooked breakfast). The breakfast room was equipped with fridge, microwave, toaster, cafetiere etc. A plate of cold meats and cheese was left in the fridge and a variety of breads and bagels, cereals, jams and spreads. Ample tea and coffee and juice. We loved this set up which suited us well. We felt totally unpressured about getting up at a certain time for breakfast and the spread set us up well for a lovely days walking in the surrounding area. We were given a key to access the outer door leading to the rooms and our room so were free to come and go as we please.
The meal in the Bistro was wonderful and very much recommended. Everyone was very attentive and the meal was extremely tasty.
As our daughter lives locally we will definitely be returning to the area and Lulu's I can see becoming our preferred place to stay.
Many thaks for a lovely weekend - hope to be back again soon

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolinet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Just come back from two nights whilst working nearby. Louisa is incredibly friendly, sociable and welcoming, and her mum made me feel so welcome it felt like home. The food in the bistro was lovely, and as a woman on my own I didn't feel awkward. My bed was incredibly comfortable, and the peace and quiet was lovely. I genuinely love LuLus b&b and bistro and am looking forward to another chance to visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HLCODD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for a night in december whilst visiting family in nearby egremont. What a treat this place is, cant stress enough how fantastic owner Louisa is, we were made to feel very welcome and Louisa was so accomadating, she goes out of her way to make sure you have a fantastic stay, rooms are very comfortable and clean and the communal breakfast area for guests staying over is brilliant and honestly makes it feel like you are in your own home with amazing staff tending to your every need :) and the cooked breakfast is wonderful. I cannot recommend this place enough. We will definately return.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lou83uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

we stayed here at the end of October for 2 nights we were in St Bees for my grandaughters christening . We found lulus to be great lovely room with a really big bathroom with Jacuzi bath.The Breakfast was really good and my vegetarian breakfast was yummy with even vegetarian black pudding. We had the lunch after the christening in the bistro and this was really delicious cant recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1worried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

If you really want to feel spoilt, pampered and special make your way to Lulu's. Louise and her staff are exceptional hosts dedicated to making your stay the most memorable you will ever have. The rooms are beautiful and the food is fantastic, the bistro has a menu and standard of food you would be lucky to better in a top London restaurant.
It is a gem of a place, one not to be missed. Go there and enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterliddle12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Bees
0.0 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 3 in St Bees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seacote Hotel
Seacote Hotel
#2 of 3 in St Bees
3.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ennerdale Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel
3.0 mi away
Grove Court Hotel
Grove Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cleator
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ellerbeck Manor
Ellerbeck Manor
#4 of 9 in St Bees
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lulu's Bistro - Old Station House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lulu's Bistro - Old Station House

Property: Lulu's Bistro - Old Station House
Address: 134 Main St, St Bees CA27 0DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > St Bees
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in St Bees
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lulu's Bistro - Old Station House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lulu's Bistro - Old Station House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lulu's Bistro - Old Station House St Bees, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing