We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great start to the Coast to Coast”
Review of Tomlin Guest House

Tomlin Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Bees
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tomlin Guest House
Ranked #2 of 9 St Bees B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 October 2011

The welcome by Irene and David was warm and stayed there throughout our 3 night visit prior to my c2c. Very close to the start of the c2c. The excellent English breakfast was just what was needed for walking. Also tried the kippers - fantastic. The rooms were warm and very comfortable. No hesitation in recommending the Tomlin Guest House and would stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Italianbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2011

Had one stay at the tomlin guest house.Very comfortable stay and a very warm welcome from the hosts.Breakfast was lovely.Good start to our coast to coast.

Room Tip: We had top floor room and was shared facilities, Not a problem for one night but would advise to ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alcaholics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

The Tomlin Guest House welcomed us to the wonderful people of the U.K. Irene and David are such warm and genuine people. Our room was so welcoming and cozy despite the wind and rain from Hurricane Katia. Breakfast was delicious. We received a warm send-off from Irene to begin our Coast to Coast walk.

Room Tip: Couldn't have been happier with everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rolofadang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We based ourselves at St Bees for a few days to explore the Lake District. Tomlins is in a great location, really close to the beach. Irene is lovely and welcoming. Gave us lots of advice about what to do. Beach was great. We also went to Whitehaven and visited the Lighthouse and Rum Story - both really good for passing away a rainy day. Very interactive for kids. Wass water and Muntcaster Castle were also not too far away. The Beatrix Potter attraction was well worth the visit. Would definitely go back to Tomlins.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCCNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

My first stay - having booked in to do the Coast to Coast walk. Irene was both welcoming and helpful. Rooms are clean and adequate and the en suite, whilst no frills, was all that was needed. Moreover it's very close to the beach - and the start of the walk! I would have no hesitation in staying again. One drawback was that the beachside hotel opposite was really the only immediate place for supper - though the town centre is only 15 mins walk away. very good breakfast too.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walkoverover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Before the walk, I was "advised" by an elderly gentleman not to do the walk on my own (as a woman) on the train from Carlisle to St Bees. By the time, the train arrived in St Bees, I was frazzled and doubting my sanity of doing the C2C on my own.

When I arrived at Tomlins Guest House, David and Irene were so welcoming and rationalised my concerns. The room was very comfortable and the lunch they provided could feed me and 2 others.

So thank you Irene and David - without you two, I would have never started the C2C.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vonga007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Provided a great start to the Coast to Coast.

Irene was friendly and welcoming, giving us good recommendations for where to eat in St. Bees. She was also helpful in filling up our water bladders, meaning we didn't need to struggle in the room.

Our double room was clean and spacious (needed when you have big packs).

Likes:
+ Very close to the start of the walk.
+ Good sized rooms.
+ Clean
+ The breakfast was possibly the best we had on the whole trip!
+ The en-suite shower was good.

Dislikes:
- The basin in the en-suite was far too small to be much use, and the shelf above it got in the way.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VariedTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Bees hotels
0.2 mi away
Seacote Hotel
Seacote Hotel
#3 of 3 in St Bees
447 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 3 in St Bees
170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lulu's Bistro - Old Station House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ellerbeck Manor
Ellerbeck Manor
#5 of 9 in St Bees
50 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stonehouse Farm
Stonehouse Farm
#1 of 9 in St Bees
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tomlin Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tomlin Guest House

Address: 1 Tomlin House Beach Road, St Bees CA27 0EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > St Bees
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in St Bees
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Tomlin Guest House St Bees, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing