We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“C2C walk”
Review of Tomlin Guest House

Tomlin Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Bees
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tomlin Guest House
Ranked #3 of 9 St Bees B&B and Inns
Norwich United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“C2C walk”
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Had a very comfortable, clean and pleasant one night stay before our long walk. Very friendly and hospitable. Irene recommended the Queens Hotel for evening meal and was very good. Jolly good breakfast certainly set us up for the day ahead. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven54_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    23
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
15
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012 via mobile

Very welcoming and helpful hosts, though the room was nothing special. All a bit creaky, and the.bathroom very basic. Decent breakfast and great location for the start of the c2c though it is a fair walk from pubs and the station.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scenechanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Stayed here on the first night. We had booked en suite, but didn't get it. Had to share a bathroom with another couple. Breakfast average. Clean and convenient for the route.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flattielover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Great location for C2C start, very friendly and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We just stayed with Irene for the start of our coast to coast walk. It was very comfortable and convenient (right at the start of the path). The room and breakfast were great. I would recommend this others as a great place to start your journey.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I think most guests staying at the Tomlin Guest House are walking the coast to coast. It's a good place for c2c walkers as it is short walk from the station and another short walk to the beach where the walk starts. We were made to feel very welcome, slept well and had a good breakfast. The packed lunch was very satisfactory as well

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pescia, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

The welcome by Irene and David was warm and stayed there throughout our 3 night visit prior to my c2c. Very close to the start of the c2c. The excellent English breakfast was just what was needed for walking. Also tried the kippers - fantastic. The rooms were warm and very comfortable. No hesitation in recommending the Tomlin Guest House and would stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Italianbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Bees
0.5 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 3 in St Bees
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seacote Hotel
Seacote Hotel
#3 of 3 in St Bees
424 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ennerdale Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lulu's Bistro - Old Station House
0.8 mi away
Ellerbeck Manor
Ellerbeck Manor
#5 of 9 in St Bees
48 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grovewood House B&B
Grovewood House B&B
#6 of 14 in Whitehaven
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tomlin Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tomlin Guest House

Property: Tomlin Guest House
Address: 1 Tomlin House Beach Road, St Bees CA27 0EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > St Bees
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in St Bees
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Tomlin Guest House St Bees, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing