We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal base in the eastern fells”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Staveley, Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
swpratt
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
560 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Ideal base in the eastern fells”
Reviewed 26 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a great house for large parties. Lots of rooms and bathrooms and some with great views towards kentmere and morecombe bay.
Surrounded by farmland and sheep and a healthy walk into stavely this was a great option for us. We prefer a bit of peace and quiet and you may not find it nearer the centre of the Lake District.
Kitchen was large and well equipped though frying pans could be updated.
I would definitely return to this part of the lakes and this house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spaciousness and views
Liked least: Frying pans - small complaint I know
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2016
We are so pleased that you had a lovely time on your holiday at Ghyll Bank House, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us all. The location sounds lovely, with the surrounding countryside providing plenty of peace and quiet - bliss! We certainly hope that you return to enjoy the house and the area again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton in Hull
Reviewed 16 December 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Philip F
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and wonderful accommodation”
Reviewed 21 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

An ideal place for a large group to stay. Very comfortable, an enormous amount of room including two kitchens, warm and well equipped, the most amazing views, perfect for walking the fells; within walking distance of Stavely ( and Wilfs restaurant!), friendly owners. Might be a good idea to bring games to play for a family and children - the Lake District weather! You will need to be mobile/active to make the most of this place. Basic store in the village and good supermarket in Windermere (Booths).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Reviewed 26 September 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
nottingham
Reviewed 2 March 2011 for a stay in January 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: the views
Liked least: not enough tea mugs
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reading
Reviewed 13 November 2010 for a stay in August 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nieuw-Buinen
Reviewed 5 November 2010 for a stay in September 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Large group or tour
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing