We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Windermere Camping and Caravanning Club Site
Nearby Hotels
US$349
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
The Wild Boar(Windermere)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House(Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Lamplighter(Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillthwaite(Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant(Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
57
39
12
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
39
12
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhistling pigon arrivaltoilet blockthe pubsafari tentplay areastayed here for nightstoilet facilitiessmall shopdogs are allowedcamp arealake districtmember of staffchecking inlovely scenerymotor homedog owners
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2012 via mobile

This is a nice campsite with a small shop, pub and cafe family room. The facilities (showers etc ...) are good and clean. My only bad points are the pool table had no tips on cues and the kids ran riot outside the pub (close to our pitch) until 11pm.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank 1weetwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I am a memmber of caravan and camping club and booked on to this siteto camp the 2nd week of august and my parents also decided to tag along with us in there motorhome . On booking we were advised to arrive early as they are fully booked to secure pitches together as we requested this . We arrived at 10am and were allocated to our pitches next to one another but i was disspaointed as there were other campers with dogs by us and with having 2 small children i was unhappy having dogs near my children whilst they were playing.
The womens main entrance door handles were too high for my 6 year old dauther to reach so we had to assist her on every ocassion even though we can see the toilets from our tent , other children even aged 10 had problems opening the doors . There was not enough changing cubicles or wash basins to cater for the amount of guests and they were not to the highest of standars that i have experienced on other c&C sites.

The childrens park was not at all child friendly it was a bit of a disapointment as it consisted of 2 swings and a small bridge and rope that was it . The area was not child safe at all as there was nettles and glass there , a lack of attention/maintence is a major issue and i would not advise visiting this area for kids .

We did speak to other guests on site who also had a issue as did we with one member of staff who we all found to be rude and rather unhelpful . This male member of staff did not have any customer relations skills what so ever !

This site was a good location to local areas and attractions but it was overpriced and not at all a well maintained site . It does need a lot of modernisation in playpark, toilets,showers and especially the pub / child club . The kids club was not supervised it was a pool table which u had to give your child a 50 p to play definatley would not reccommend this as it was unsuitable .

Myself and my parents would not recommend this as a family site and would not return to this site but would return to the lake district as the area was lovely .

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rebecca m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012 via mobile

Lovely site but expensive in comparison to other Camping and Caravanning Club Sites. Not sure how an extra £10 per family unit per night was justified over an equally good site we stayed at the week after, I can only imagine it is because it is near to Windermere.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beaverooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Arrived here last Friday in pouring rain but received a very warm welcome from all the staff in the office and the men who sorted out our pitch. Lovely clean and spacious campsite. Made good use of the recreation room attached to the Whistling Pig bar - which was small but cosy. Food was good but a little overpriced we thought. Would have liked staff to be a little less hasty in clearing plates - much nicer if they wait until everyone has finished. Would definitely stay here again. Location good for exploring the Lake District too.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mambo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Stayed at this caravan site for the last week in July and first week in August. Staff very helpful when we discovered a broken water pump (tested it for us and advised where to get a replacement). Very large campsite well run and very clean and tidy. Lots of 'coming and going' but all added to the atmosphere.
Dog loved it - plenty of walks for him just off the site and great circular walk just outside the site.
Check our reviews for Eagle and Child and Hawkshead Brewery in Stavely - both worth a visit

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracycymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews