We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“well run site”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Staveley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Windermere Camping and Caravanning Club Site
Certificate of Excellence
Prescot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“well run site”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

well run site, although a larger site it is split into seperate areas so doent appear to be too big. acces is down a narrow lane which could put people off but with larger units, but seems to cope with plenty of passing places. needs care so as not to miss the turning off the main road, the junction is signposted but not visible until right on top of it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank gedandsue300869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    29
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
35
34
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Found this place rather grim- dominated by a crowd in the bar who seemed to treat the place like their own personal fiefdom. Ruined the enjoyment for us, so we didn't hang around.

It's nowhere near Windermere and in our experience there are much nicer parks around the area with a nicer atmosphere and outlook.

Not particularly friendly, but I guess that's because we're outsiders, far too cliquey for us. Service was poor. Toilets & showers ok.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank derbyhappycamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed here for one night to try out a new tent that we'd picked up in an end of season sale.

It's a lovely location surrounded in woodlands and conveniently situated just off the main road. The staff were all extremely friendly from the moment we booked until our departure.

The camping position was tidy, flat and well maintained. There was a well equiped backpacking room with smart washing and drying facilities.

The on-site pub was a welcome addition- they serve a standard range of bar meals at acceptable prices. The family room (with pool table and TV) doubles up as a breakfast room serving fine cooked breakfasts and warm drinks for those mornings when it's just too much hassle to unpack the camping stove.

All in all, we're really looking forward to spending a little more time here another time.

Room Tip: The access road can be a little noisey- so ask for pitch away from it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012 via mobile

This is a nice campsite with a small shop, pub and cafe family room. The facilities (showers etc ...) are good and clean. My only bad points are the pool table had no tips on cues and the kids ran riot outside the pub (close to our pitch) until 11pm.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 1weetwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I am a memmber of caravan and camping club and booked on to this siteto camp the 2nd week of august and my parents also decided to tag along with us in there motorhome . On booking we were advised to arrive early as they are fully booked to secure pitches together as we requested this . We arrived at 10am and were allocated to our pitches next to one another but i was disspaointed as there were other campers with dogs by us and with having 2 small children i was unhappy having dogs near my children whilst they were playing.
The womens main entrance door handles were too high for my 6 year old dauther to reach so we had to assist her on every ocassion even though we can see the toilets from our tent , other children even aged 10 had problems opening the doors . There was not enough changing cubicles or wash basins to cater for the amount of guests and they were not to the highest of standars that i have experienced on other c&C sites.

The childrens park was not at all child friendly it was a bit of a disapointment as it consisted of 2 swings and a small bridge and rope that was it . The area was not child safe at all as there was nettles and glass there , a lack of attention/maintence is a major issue and i would not advise visiting this area for kids .

We did speak to other guests on site who also had a issue as did we with one member of staff who we all found to be rude and rather unhelpful . This male member of staff did not have any customer relations skills what so ever !

This site was a good location to local areas and attractions but it was overpriced and not at all a well maintained site . It does need a lot of modernisation in playpark, toilets,showers and especially the pub / child club . The kids club was not supervised it was a pool table which u had to give your child a 50 p to play definatley would not reccommend this as it was unsuitable .

Myself and my parents would not recommend this as a family site and would not return to this site but would return to the lake district as the area was lovely .

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebecca m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2012 via mobile

Lovely site but expensive in comparison to other Camping and Caravanning Club Sites. Not sure how an extra £10 per family unit per night was justified over an equally good site we stayed at the week after, I can only imagine it is because it is near to Windermere.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beaverooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Arrived here last Friday in pouring rain but received a very warm welcome from all the staff in the office and the men who sorted out our pitch. Lovely clean and spacious campsite. Made good use of the recreation room attached to the Whistling Pig bar - which was small but cosy. Food was good but a little overpriced we thought. Would have liked staff to be a little less hasty in clearing plates - much nicer if they wait until everyone has finished. Would definitely stay here again. Location good for exploring the Lake District too.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mambo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staveley
3.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,298 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Wild Boar
The Wild Boar
#8 of 20 in Windermere
947 reviews
18.6 mi away
Wild Rose Park
Wild Rose Park
#1 of 4 in Appleby
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Eagle & Child Inn
Eagle & Child Inn
#1 of 2 in Staveley
154 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Windermere Camping and Caravanning Club Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere Camping and Caravanning Club Site

Property: Windermere Camping and Caravanning Club Site
Address: Ashes Lane, Staveley, Kendal LA8 9JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal > Staveley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Staveley
Also Known As:
Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site Staveley, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing