We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint little owl's house”
Review of Li'le Hullets

Li'le Hullets
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Staveley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Li'le Hullets
Ranked #2 of 2 Staveley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 July 2011

My husband and I stayed with Anne and Tony for three nights.Our room was comfortable, with a nice big bed, which also doubled as a twin bedded room. Ensuite shower room perfectly designed and very clean, with all the toiletries one could possibly need. Around the bedroom were useful and decorative pieces of pretty china, giving the room a homely feel. The cottage is 400 years old C.17th century, and sympathetically restored. Outside is festooned with beautiful hanging baskets, which are tended by Anne in her spare time!! Tony and Anne are willing to inform visitors about the locality, providing good advice about the significant places of interest to see. Breakfast is served in the wonderfully characterful dining room, in it are lots of historic and interesting features, including ancient oak beams. Go and visit for yourself you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank bobbydazzler76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2010

Li'le Hullets is in a great location and is a great value. Very friendly and helpful hosts who made us feel at home.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Extremely good value B&B in Staveley. The location is good with easy parking unlike the busier Lake District town. The village has a great pub (The Eagle & Child) for Real Ale and excellent food.

Anne and Tony, the owners, are very attentive. However the fact that whilst they are in the cottage you need to ring the doorbell to gain entry, does make it feel like you are not as independent as coming and going as you.

Overall, I would recommend this to anybody staying in the Lake District.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smikkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2010

We stayed here whilst attending a wedding locally. Anne & Tony were so welcoming and nothing was an inconvenice, Rooms were exceptionally clean and spacious with the added bonus of all rooms being ensuite - very handy when everyone is trying to get ready at the same time!! Well stocked with everything you could possibly need. The attic room was lovely & quirky. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order. We would recommend this B&B to anyone visiting the area and we shall certainly be staying there next time we are in the Lake District.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stirlingmoss-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Having just returned from a mountain bike trip in the Lakes I want to say what a great welcome Anne and Tony offered. A good location in a village with a nice pub and a friendly manne,. they take everthing in their stride including drying our wet and dirty kit. It added up to an excellent stay. I will definitely return when next visiting the lakes.

IB

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IANno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2010

I was attending a photographic course in Staveley and decided to extend my stay. I was accompanied by my wife. We were warmly welcomed by Anne and Tony. We stayed in a double room which was pleasant and airy with an ensuite bathroom. On this occasion we also had with us our dog, a well behaved whippet. He was welcomed by prior arrangement. Breakfast was good and freshly cooked. The village has great pubs and the pub in nearby Ings also provides excellent food. There are a number of nice local walks in the area too. A pleasant change from the bigger towns in the Lakes.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KJMColdstream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2010

This would be my 9th or 10th trip to Li'le Hullets now. It's location is perfectly suited for a trip to the South Lakes, being only a 10 minute drive from Windermere, but avoiding all the problems associated with lack of parking and traffic there. Staveley is a lovely village, and the B&B is within easy walking distance of local pubs, shops in the village centre, and the train station. It's also ideally situated for walking in the Kentmere valley, being only a few miles from Kentmere itself.

The owners Anne & Tony are the friendliest people you can meet and they work very hard to keep the B&B absolutely spotless and look after the guests. It's no wonder guests return season after season. Rooms are very comfortable, with lots of extras including hot drink making facilities. The ensuite bathrooms are a big bonus. The B&B itself has a very traditional and homely feel, the restoration from almost derelict farmhouse to what it is now has to been seen to be believed, you can spend a whole afternoon going through the before/after photos in the lounge.

Breakfast is very hearty and the lounge is very comfortable should you choose to spend an hour or two there - the recently fitted free WIFI is very useful for checking email etc.

Can't recommend Li'le Hullets enough, I guarantee you'll have a comfortable and pleasant stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vhuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Li'le Hullets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Li'le Hullets

Address: 3 Seed Howe Cottages Seed Howe, Staveley, Kendal LA8 9PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal > Staveley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Staveley
Price Range: £40 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Li'le Hullets Bed and Breakfast is a 400 year old former Westmorland farmhouse. It has been painstakingly restored and refurbished, offering a very high standard of accommodation throughout. Li'le Hullets Bed and Breakfast is situated in the quiet rural village of Staveley, in the Lake District National Park, between the old market town of Kendal, and Windermere. Located directly off the A591, our convenient location offers easy access to motorways and all Lake District routes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Li'Le Hullets Staveley, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing