We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A 3 day break @ 5 The Banks”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 5 The Banks

The main entrance round the back
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The main entrance round the back
5 The Banks Easy to start gas fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
The main entrance round the back
5 The Banks
Easy to start gas fire
Welcoming
Modern bright kitchen
Microwave/oven.....new hob and cooker
Kitchen leading to porch/utility room
Breakfast .... John Lewis crockery
Breakfast for 2 or 4...
Chill time...
Bathroom
Newly refurbished bathroom with overhead shower and shaving point
Large bedroom…plenty of hanging space and drawers
Kingsize bed...John Lewis mattress
Morning coffee on the patio......or evening wine :)
Bedroom with small double…cosy
Complimentary bathroom luxuries
Porch/utility room with washer/dryer
Main bedroom
Fresh linen and fluffy towels
Main bedroom…lots of bedtime reading for you
Kingsize bed….so comfortable
Books to read….games to play
Lovely homely touches
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Staveley, Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
KKS001
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A 3 day break @ 5 The Banks”
Reviewed 1 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A very pleasant break in Staveley, 3 nights away in a wonderful cottage. This house has been finished to a very high standard with some great features giving it a home like feeling. The local pub is a great place to eat and it's only a few minutes in the car from Windermere and surrounding areas. Hope to be back sometime in the future as we loved our stay. Thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sean c
1 review
“Excellent living space in friendly Lakeland village.”
Reviewed 7 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Very well specified accomodation in a really great spot. The house has all the facilities you need and are all modern and well thought out. It would make an excellent base for a walking holiday. Really enjoyed are stay and the communications and instructions were all very straightforward and easy to follow.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol B
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“clean, warm and comfortable”
Reviewed 26 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

A pleasure to stay in such a clean, well furnished home (it certainly felt like a much loved home rather than just a rental) the village had a variety of places to walk to for a fabulous breakfast, a really enjoyable break

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HayleyT8
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway!”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in this lovely property for 2 days for a celebration.. absolutely loved it!
We wish we could have stayed there longer as it was beautiful and the location was ideal.
The interior is fabulous, so modern and welcoming which adds to the homely feel of the place.

Having driven, we had access to everywhere, yet for those who get a train or taxi there is a train station at the end of the street which is perfect.
I would recommend staying in this property for a minimum of 3 days to get the full benefit of the area - We wish we had more time to explore the local pubs, restaurants and walks that were suggested to us.

It was a delight to stay in this rental property and will definately return for a longer duration, as 2 days just wasn't enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful interior
Liked least: Slight problem with the heating
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect ”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Me my wife kids and another couple stayed at 5 the banks at weekend and we had the best time. Beautiful clean modern cosy cottage with everything you need, even sky with movies and sports Really comfortable beds and 1 minutes walk to the train station so can get to Kendal or Windermere in 5 mins or so. Theirs a few pubs within walking distance too which do lovely food too. Planning to come back in the future but for a bit longer thanks!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain T
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home.”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Really nice house. Everything you could want for a comfortable stay, particularly the kitchen which had a full range of equipment. Lots of info (maps, books,etc) for touring in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Full range of facilities. Comfortable. Great pub nearby with real ale and good food.
Liked least: No mobile phone signal
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Great Accommodation in Beautifully Renovated Cottage.”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We were very impressed with The Banks. The cottage has been carefully and tastefully renovated to a high standard and all amenities were available. There is obvious pride in the appearance and the presentation for visitors.
The two bedrooms and modern bathroom were located upstairs and this would not present a challenge to older guests.
The kitchen and laundry were well equipped and the lounge extremely comfortable. Many little extras were available and this, being Eileen's home, were appreciated by us during our all too brief stay. The maps and books proved very handy indeed.
Our teenage grand daughter loved her own room and enjoyed relaxing infront of the large flat screen TV after an exhausting day with us.
The main bedroom was great, everything very comfortable with plenty of storage.
We did find the wifi a bit tricky along with the hot water and a phone call was returned immediately with clear instructions on their use.
Parking was readily available in the street and the local hotel can be recommended for a hearty meal.
We loved our stay and were sorry we were in such a rush and could only stay for two nights. The next time we visit we will certainly stay longer and enjoy this delightful property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and ambiance.
Liked least: Nil, everything was perfect.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing