We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pub in which to spend a weekend in the Lakes.”
Review of Eagle & Child Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eagle & Child Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Staveley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We have stayed at The Eagle and Child 3 times, so totally disagree with the bad reviews I have just seen. The bedrooms are really comfortable, evening meals well served and a typical price for the Lakes.
The English breakfast is one of the best I have ever had, including fresh fruit, yogurt and drinkable coffee!!!
The bar maid cheerily took my booking for a table in the evening as it was busy being school holidays!!
The lady at breakfast was chatty and pleasant and gave excellent service, and remembered us from previous visits.
We enjoy staying in the Lakes, we can walk to the Hawkshead brewery Hall, or catch a bus up to The water mill at Ings, another good Lakeland pub.
The showers and bathrooms are excellent. The fact we stayed 3 times says something!!
Maybe the other reviewers don't understand the Northern manner!!!!

Room Tip: I love room 1 with a sofa to watch TV as well as the bed, Room 2 has lovely riverside views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lluckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed at the Eagle and Child for one night as we were attending a family wedding at the Hawkeshead brewery. We had a lovely time, the staff were friendly the atmosphere was great. The rooms were clean, well furnished and the bed was comfortable. We had a nice view of the stream opposite and the tea/coffee facilities were good, as was the breakfast the following morning. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlossieHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Never have I been to any pub and been made to feel so unwelcome, this pub is for the locals only, staff are happy to have two drunk yocals swearing and mouthing off in earshot of my young children , short southern woman behind bar was rude especially when I approached her about ordering food I was 15 mins ahead of the 6pm time to order she expressed a curt manner in telling me it was strictly 6pm asI walked away I overheard one of the drunk yocals say to her " THAT TOLD HIM" returned to the curt women paid my drinks bill and made a swift exit with my wife and two young boys and headed for the BoarInn ,Crook for a much more freindlier welcome,this was like a scene from Deliverance alls it needed was the two drunk yocals to get the Banjos out AVOID this miserable pub go see for yourself BANK holiday Monday 7.5.12

Room Tip: Avoid this place better options close by
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Roy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This place is unbelievable the staff here should be working at the local undertakers not in any way working in the pub and leisure industry. If you want to visit the most miserable pub in Britain for a laugh then this is the place fill you're boots. Even the customers were miserable as sin but they seemed to be local oiks! There was no need to make us feel so unwelcome I would have preferred it if they had just told us to go away rather than serve us but once we'd got our drinks it was too late.

Room Tip: Try the Duke William instead great welcome and good food
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank shaun37iggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Ok so im biased as i used to live in Staveley however our experience of this accomodation is first class. Paid £75 for the room and breakfast. The room was lovely and well decorated and the breakfast was first class. We stayed on a Thursday night which is quiz night and great fun. The beer is very good and the landlord and staff are so polite and helpful. Stay here, you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: Wonderful experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leeguapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I don`t really want to write a raving review about this pub/restaurant/hotel as it will only encourage every Tom, Dick and Harry to patronise this brilliant place and it be fully booked when I want to return. I wasn`t too keen on booking this hotel after looking at the picture of the front, it looked like an average old village pub, "BUT HOW LOOKS CAN DECEIVE". Upon arriving quite late around 8.30pm we were welcomed and booked in warmly and efficiently.
The short haired young lady could not do enough to help us. She promptly settled us in and made up the bed settee for our daughter. The restaurant beckoned and we ordered our meals. the staff were genuinely polite friendly and the meals were great, tender steak, fresh veg, tasty, well presented and hot.
The atmosphere and decor in the pub and restaurant was to say the least freindly and eclectic (my type of pub). I stayed at the bar until closing time chatting to the freindly bar staff and local natives.(can`t remember all their names but one was Dave the Builder and another WigWam Bill, oh and not forgetting Big Foot) ;-) Local ales and lager flowing a plenty. Returning to our room I couldn`t help but notice the tasteful vibrant decor, (unusual for an old village pub) or any modern hotel for that matter.
Next morning the same short haired young lady sat us down in the breakfast room ( which reminded us of a medieval banquetting hall) and politely and promptly took our order while we perused the variety of fruits, cereals and yoghurts to start our breakfast. The "Full Cumbrian" came and a tastier and heartier breakfast will be hard to find anywhere, promptly served by you know who, while serving four other tables as well.
The accomodation,food,ales and atmosphere and especially the service all gets a blistering five stars from us, and a pat on the back to all the staff.
So a word to the management :- when every Tom,Dick and Harry as booked in after reading this review, keep a room spare for me.. PLEASE!!!
Thanks and well done.
Graham, Deb and Poppy.
Bridlington.

Room Tip: Don`t know about the other rooms but the family room is worth the extra dosh.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G-M-Spencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Recently had a meal at the Eagle & Child and can honestly say it was the worst presented meal I have every been served. The food was equally unimpressive, lacking flavour and imagination.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Copiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staveley
4.4 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
4.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Wild Boar
The Wild Boar
#9 of 20 in Windermere
1,027 reviews
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#6 of 13 in Kendal
432 reviews
9.7 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle & Child Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle & Child Inn

Address: Kendal Road, Staveley, Kendal LA8 9LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal > Staveley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Staveley
Price Range: £81 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eagle & Child Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eagle & Child Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Child Hotel Staveley
Eagle & Child Inn Staveley, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing