We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret off the beaten track”
Review of Eagle & Child Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eagle & Child Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Staveley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Booked this last minute for an un-planned visit to the Lakes.....what a find. Cosy pub, log fires & loads of character. Recently re-furbished rooms, both spotless & comfortable, breakfast had everything you could have wished for and more. Hospitality 1st class. This is an Ideal location to explore the relatively lesser known Kentmere Valley area of the English Lake District and yet only a few miles from the touristy Windermere & Bowness. Will definitely be back

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 722charlied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

This is the third time we have stayed here for a two night break and each stay has been lovely.
Clean comfortable rooms, excellent breakfasts and filling evening meals.
Bar is interesting to say the least with a good choice of beers etc. You don't feel like an outsider as there is a good mix of locals and visitors.
Staff are pleasant and accommodating.
All in all a good place to spend a relaxing couple of days in a beautiful part of the country.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank tankman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I guess most people are in these beautiful surrounding to explore Lake District but if you happen to have a business trip here, Eagle & Child is perfect place to stay! My room was modern, clean, quiet and comfortable. The atmosphere was welcoming and the breakfast was very good as well. No complaints whatsoever. I wish I will be lucky enough to go there again, either for business or for pleasure!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Tuomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We have been going to The Eagle for about 20 years. The food is of the highest quality. The selection of beers is great. The riverside dining/drinking area weather permitting, is very relaxing. The staff are very efficient. The cosy fire is welcome as the weather gets cooler.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed here for a weekend at the beginning of October with some friends to celebrate a 40th birthday party, after the recommendation of a mutual friend. We couldn't have been happier with the choice.
We were very happy with our en-suite room, which was spotlessly clean, a decent size, simply but nicely furnished, and at the front of the pub with a view over the beautiful Cumbrian countryside, including the lovely Gowan beck. The service was second to none; it seemed that nothing was too much trouble.
We ate at the pub both evenings and thoroughly enjoyed the food and ambience of the place. The breakfasts were tasty and huge! The Eggs Benedict are a definite recommendation - really set us up for some fell walking. Looking forward to going back and staying again in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front for a lovely view of Gowan beck and the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Great little Inn and so well placed for Windermere and the surrounds. Rooms very pleasant ,decent size mugs instead of cups. Breakfast will take some beating and such a choice for the evening meals. Very wholesome food, cosy fireplace and local brew just what we wanted after a day in the fells. Quiet location, off road parking, staff helpful and friendly. Made our little break all the more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicwray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We (2 adults & 3 children) ate here a couple of weeks ago and would recommend it without hesitation. We went on a warm summers evening and started with a couple of drinks in the beer garden opposite the pub next to the river...very relaxing.

The choice of local beers was great and the bar staff really helpful. Food was great as well. Only two minor issues that prevent the perfect 5 were price...some meals are a little expensive and the wait for your meals...30 minutes for ours.

Overall...a big thumbs up from us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisandDean170499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Eagle & Child Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle & Child Inn

Address: Kendal Road, Staveley, Kendal LA8 9LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal > Staveley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Staveley
Price Range: £80 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eagle & Child Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eagle & Child Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Child Hotel Staveley
Eagle & Child Inn Staveley, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing