We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Accommodation and Pub”
Review of Eagle & Child Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eagle & Child Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Staveley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Fantastic Accommodation and Pub”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed here from Ireland for a family get together. The Eagle and Child is set in such a beautiful village. There is plenty of parking to the side and out front,
You enter through the pub which is so cosy, fore lighting and great seats.
The staff are very nice and you check in at the bar itself.
I think there are just 5 rooms, we had 2 x twins. The rooms a very modern, very clean and everything you need.
The breakfast was fantastic, we just could not fault this place.

Room Tip: Just book it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishDave2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    64
    15
    7
    9
See reviews for
40
81
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We were at Staveley in Nov. 2013 and visited the Eagle and Child for lunch one day, a number of adults and a dog. We were made very welcome, the atmosphere was really nice, coal fire burning and a plenty of odd things on the walls, etc. to keep your interest. The food was served very promptly, was plentiful and excellent value.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tabby2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Booked this last minute for an un-planned visit to the Lakes.....what a find. Cosy pub, log fires & loads of character. Recently re-furbished rooms, both spotless & comfortable, breakfast had everything you could have wished for and more. Hospitality 1st class. This is an Ideal location to explore the relatively lesser known Kentmere Valley area of the English Lake District and yet only a few miles from the touristy Windermere & Bowness. Will definitely be back

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 722charlied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

This is the third time we have stayed here for a two night break and each stay has been lovely.
Clean comfortable rooms, excellent breakfasts and filling evening meals.
Bar is interesting to say the least with a good choice of beers etc. You don't feel like an outsider as there is a good mix of locals and visitors.
Staff are pleasant and accommodating.
All in all a good place to spend a relaxing couple of days in a beautiful part of the country.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tankman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I guess most people are in these beautiful surrounding to explore Lake District but if you happen to have a business trip here, Eagle & Child is perfect place to stay! My room was modern, clean, quiet and comfortable. The atmosphere was welcoming and the breakfast was very good as well. No complaints whatsoever. I wish I will be lucky enough to go there again, either for business or for pleasure!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tuomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We have been going to The Eagle for about 20 years. The food is of the highest quality. The selection of beers is great. The riverside dining/drinking area weather permitting, is very relaxing. The staff are very efficient. The cosy fire is welcome as the weather gets cooler.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed here for a weekend at the beginning of October with some friends to celebrate a 40th birthday party, after the recommendation of a mutual friend. We couldn't have been happier with the choice.
We were very happy with our en-suite room, which was spotlessly clean, a decent size, simply but nicely furnished, and at the front of the pub with a view over the beautiful Cumbrian countryside, including the lovely Gowan beck. The service was second to none; it seemed that nothing was too much trouble.
We ate at the pub both evenings and thoroughly enjoyed the food and ambience of the place. The breakfasts were tasty and huge! The Eggs Benedict are a definite recommendation - really set us up for some fell walking. Looking forward to going back and staying again in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front for a lovely view of Gowan beck and the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staveley
4.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,014 reviews
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
4.4 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kendal
672 reviews
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#6 of 13 in Kendal
412 reviews
7.8 mi away
Gilpin Bridge Inn, Levens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle & Child Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle & Child Inn

Property: Eagle & Child Inn
Address: Kendal Road, Staveley, Kendal LA8 9LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal > Staveley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Staveley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Eagle & Child Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Eagle & Child Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Child Hotel Staveley
Eagle & Child Inn Staveley, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing