We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great sunday lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Eagle & Child Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eagle & Child Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Staveley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great sunday lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Our group of 3 adults stopped here on our way home for Sunday lunch. On entering the pub it had a friendly atmosphere and the bar staff were welcoming. We all ordered the roast beef and a drink which was £40. We didn't have long to wait for 3 steaming hot plates of food arrived and a bowl of veg. The beef was tender and plentiful in a tasty gravy with Yorkshire pudding and peas, green beans, carrot and cauliflower. There was no complaints from anyone in our party. There was a choice of real ales. A variety of memorabilia decorates the pub and a real fire which was alight on our visit. We would visit again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ermentrude27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    62
    14
    5
    9
See reviews for
38
78
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Eagle and Child in Staveley. The location,bedrooms,staff and food were all excellent. From the lovely soft towels to the brilliant breakfasts we couldn't have asked for more. We ate each evening in the pub and enjoyed a selection of items from the menu, the cheeseburgers were brill!!! The village itself has enough going on to enjoy a walk around each morning to walk off our breakfasts. The weather also played ball and apart from rain the afternoon we checked in, we enjoyed plenty of sunshine for our trips out.Windermere,Ambleside and Keswick are all in easy reach. Plentiful supplies of tea,coffee,drinking chocolate and local biscuits together with the best shower ever meant that we would recommend the Eagle and Child to anyone looking for a base to explore the Lake District.

Room Tip: Room 4 had lovely views over the countryside and although on the main road was still pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harbornite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We recently stayed for two nights and found the whole experience excellent. The staff were welcoming, the room clean and with good facilities, really good breakfasts and we found its location an excellent base to explore. We also enjoyed the pub which was buzzing every night with good beer and above average pub meals. All in all enjoyable stay for a very reasonable price

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chinnor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We are a group who went to University together in the late sixties and we meet up every year in the Lake District for a few days of hill walking and the “occasional” pint of real ale! Our stay at the Eagle & Child this week was excellent. The food was good with generous portions. Breakfast was served in the first floor dining room where a log fire added to the pleasure of a full Cumbrian breakfast. An early evening pint by the river opposite the Inn was most enjoyable after a day on the hills. The Inn clearly provides the best food in the area and the bar was busy serving meals each evening – so booking a table in advance is a good idea. The service was excellent and the staff friendly and helpful at all times. My wife and I were in room two which had a fine view to the front of the Inn. The range of real ale on offer was impressive and a trip to sample the nearby Hawkshead Brewery well worthwhile. Free Wifi was an added bonus as the mobile signal from O2 was not good. In addition, the weather was fantastic and we had two good days of hill walking.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have fine views of the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed in the village for a week and this was ideal for a drink at night or an evening meal. Good variety of beers and food at a reasonable price. We did not book but managed to get a table for a party of 8 (last table !!). Not a lot of choice for eateries in the village so reckon it may always be busy. Good place to walk the dog to.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neepdocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

I was given a two night mid-week break as a birthday present, which included two nights bed & breakfast, and two dinners in the pub. We arrived before the advised arrival time (2pm), but were shown to our accommodation without any problem. This was great, as it allowed us to get settled in before exploring the small village in which the pub is located. The accommodation was, in fact, a suite consisting of a double room, with queen sized bed, a separate twin bedded room, a separate lounge which was L shaped with a contiguous self catering kitchen and dining area - all very spacious, comfortable, and warm. The only down side to the attic suite was the low beam heights - I'm just short of six foot tall, but had to duck a lot! The food at breakfast was served in the spacious first floor dining room, and had an extensive choice on the menu. The food well cooked, and with generous portions. Dinner is served in the ground floor dining area, which is part of the bar. The food is the 'normal' that you would expect to find in a good English pub, reasonably extensive a la carte menu, with an interesting 'Special' board. Again, the food was well prepared, and the portions generous. The real ale served in the bar is of a very high quality, as one would expect from a pub that regularly features in the Campaign for Real Ale 'Good Beer Guide', and features real ales from UK micro-breweries, many of them local to Staveley (including real ales from the highly regarded Hawkshead brewery). The service from all of the staff in the pub that we dealt with couldn't be faulted in any way.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank romagaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DISS
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

I dined at this excellent inn during a recent Lakeland holiday, along with six friends and their large dog, The food was, without exception, of an extremely high quality and the staff pleasant, efficient and helpful. The establishment is a perfect example of what an English country inn should be;[ cosy, warm, very welcoming and, essential for our party, dog friendly. I have never before seen so many contented and well behaved canines gathered under one roof.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staveley
4.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 15 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
9.7 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
4.4 mi away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 15 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Wild Boar
The Wild Boar
#8 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle & Child Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle & Child Inn

Property: Eagle & Child Inn
Address: Kendal Road, Staveley, Kendal LA8 9LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal > Staveley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Staveley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eagle & Child Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eagle & Child Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Child Hotel Staveley
Eagle & Child Inn Staveley, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing