We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Accomodating”
Review of Eagle & Child Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eagle & Child Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Staveley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We arrived at the pub without booking on a Sunday. There were actually 9 of us in our party and the pub was full. We thought no chance would we be able to eat. On the contrary they actually opened up the function room upstairs for us.
The food was good and reasonably priced and a good choice of real ales.
We will definitely be going again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daltonblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and had an excellent stay. The staff were outstandingly friendly and helpful and the breakfast, with local sausages was delicious. One night we ate in and the food was very good, freshly made and obviously very popular with locals. Our room was on the front, quiet at night with superb view of the river

Room Tip: smallish rooms but comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Our group of 3 adults stopped here on our way home for Sunday lunch. On entering the pub it had a friendly atmosphere and the bar staff were welcoming. We all ordered the roast beef and a drink which was £40. We didn't have long to wait for 3 steaming hot plates of food arrived and a bowl of veg. The beef was tender and plentiful in a tasty gravy with Yorkshire pudding and peas, green beans, carrot and cauliflower. There was no complaints from anyone in our party. There was a choice of real ales. A variety of memorabilia decorates the pub and a real fire which was alight on our visit. We would visit again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ermentrude27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Eagle and Child in Staveley. The location,bedrooms,staff and food were all excellent. From the lovely soft towels to the brilliant breakfasts we couldn't have asked for more. We ate each evening in the pub and enjoyed a selection of items from the menu, the cheeseburgers were brill!!! The village itself has enough going on to enjoy a walk around each morning to walk off our breakfasts. The weather also played ball and apart from rain the afternoon we checked in, we enjoyed plenty of sunshine for our trips out.Windermere,Ambleside and Keswick are all in easy reach. Plentiful supplies of tea,coffee,drinking chocolate and local biscuits together with the best shower ever meant that we would recommend the Eagle and Child to anyone looking for a base to explore the Lake District.

Room Tip: Room 4 had lovely views over the countryside and although on the main road was still pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harbornite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We recently stayed for two nights and found the whole experience excellent. The staff were welcoming, the room clean and with good facilities, really good breakfasts and we found its location an excellent base to explore. We also enjoyed the pub which was buzzing every night with good beer and above average pub meals. All in all enjoyable stay for a very reasonable price

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We are a group who went to University together in the late sixties and we meet up every year in the Lake District for a few days of hill walking and the “occasional” pint of real ale! Our stay at the Eagle & Child this week was excellent. The food was good with generous portions. Breakfast was served in the first floor dining room where a log fire added to the pleasure of a full Cumbrian breakfast. An early evening pint by the river opposite the Inn was most enjoyable after a day on the hills. The Inn clearly provides the best food in the area and the bar was busy serving meals each evening – so booking a table in advance is a good idea. The service was excellent and the staff friendly and helpful at all times. My wife and I were in room two which had a fine view to the front of the Inn. The range of real ale on offer was impressive and a trip to sample the nearby Hawkshead Brewery well worthwhile. Free Wifi was an added bonus as the mobile signal from O2 was not good. In addition, the weather was fantastic and we had two good days of hill walking.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have fine views of the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed in the village for a week and this was ideal for a drink at night or an evening meal. Good variety of beers and food at a reasonable price. We did not book but managed to get a table for a party of 8 (last table !!). Not a lot of choice for eateries in the village so reckon it may always be busy. Good place to walk the dog to.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank neepdocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staveley
4.4 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
4.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Wild Boar
The Wild Boar
#9 of 20 in Windermere
1,027 reviews
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#6 of 13 in Kendal
432 reviews
9.7 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle & Child Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle & Child Inn

Address: Kendal Road, Staveley, Kendal LA8 9LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal > Staveley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Staveley
Price Range: £81 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eagle & Child Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eagle & Child Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Child Hotel Staveley
Eagle & Child Inn Staveley, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing