We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home comforts and superb location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Staveley, Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Terrence...
2 reviews
“Home comforts and superb location”
Reviewed 19 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

All the comforts of home in the friendly village of Staveley. Lots of thought have gone into this property to make it really special for your vacation. The Wheelhouse is equidistant between Kendal and Windermere and is a great base for exploring the lake District.No where is to far away. We loved it so much we hope to return soon.If you get a chance visit the fledgling business call,'Cumbrian Cow Ice Cream at Ulverston for a superb range of ice cream.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackiepat...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous Cottage, They've Thought of Everything”
Reviewed 10 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Really well thought-out cottage. Inside was decorated beautifully, everything was spotlessly clean and new looking. Accommodated 2 adults and 3 kids comfortably. Had everything we needed, washing machine, dvd, netflix, drying room and even a sauna, which was a treat. Right in the heart of the beautiful Lakes countryside, not far to Windemere or Ambleside. Local shops were great, particularly loved the Hawkshead Brewery and the More! coffee shop. The cottage has bike storage and bike washing facilities too, which we didn't use, but which my husband will book for a cycling break later this year. We loved it, can't think of anything bad to say, we'd definitely come back, and we haven't really said that about any cottage before - and we stay in a few every year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback & taking the time to write a review. We are simply thrilled you enjoyed the Wheelhouse & hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes
Stephen & Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren H
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 25 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed at the Wheelhouse at Staveley over Christams and New Year period and it didn't disappoint. We have stayed in many holiday properties and this one is right up there for location, layout facilities and quality. We particularly liked the sauna and how useful the drying room and outside storage for dirty boots and bikes. The bedrooms are great and beds so comfortable. Downstairs the kitchen is modern and well stocked with equipment and front room is very cosy. We liked the idea of the map table, it was so useful when planning out walks and bike rides in the local area. And there are so many that you can do right from the front door. No car travel. The local pubs are really welcoming and if you do want to go to Windernere or beyond its only 15 mins drive. We had a great time in a wonderful place. We'll certainly be coming back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for your review. We are simply delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the Wheelhouse soon. Stephen & Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Jul 2017
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at the Wheelhouse and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Stephen & Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cagla D
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Really well furnished”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Property is set in an ideal location for exploring the district (although a car is recommended if you want to reach the higher fells). The location is very quiet with minimal disruption from cars/traffic.

The sauna was a welcome addition and it's the first time I've come across a property that has this brilliant feature.

Property was clean and very well furnished with all the basic amenities that you would need. Sufficient privacy was given with the voile and curtains at the front of the property.

Just one thing, an extra roll of toilet paper would have been a blessing as there was only one between two bathrooms.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. Stephen & Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan B
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for 7 nights from 27 December to 3 January 2016. Initially with family then friends later in the week, The cottage has everything with easy parking and within short stroll to the local pub Eagle and Child and the Hawkshead Brewery. Has everything you need in the village, butchers, newsagents, spa, choppy, bistro, coffee/cake shop come antique shop, playground for children, a pub which serves good food and the brewery which serves snacks. Adjoining the brewery is an artisan bakery and Wilfs Cafe which serves a good breakfast and occasionally has nights where it opens and you can bring your own drink.
The cottage itself is very clean and has all modern amenities. TV in lounge although has Netflix doesn't have a DVD, although there is one upstairs. Lounge is comfy for 4 people, sleeps 6 but downstairs has only 2, two seater settees so from a relaxing point of view only 4 can chill out. The sauna is great as are the 2 shower rooms and the drying room and storage space outside is great. Comfy beds. 2 of the bedrooms have wardrobes the other hasn't but has good cupboard/drawer space. TV with game console and DVD at top of stairs. Our only critisism was the openness of the front, needs some voiles over the window to stop people staring in the lounge area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Chilling in the lakes
Liked least: Too open at front
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2016
Thank you for your review. We have taken on board your comments and have this evening ordered a voile blind! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the Wheelhouse soon. Stephen & Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ouzolover...
manchester
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful house in a great location”
Reviewed 28 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We had a fabulous stay in this lovely house built to a very high specification with everything on hand for a great stay
We loved the sauna and the very useful outside space for boots bikes wet gear etc
We will certainly be back
Thank you Sara and Stephen for a lovely holiday home

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Dec 2015
We are simply thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back at the Wheelhouse soon. Stephen & Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing