We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Stay”
Set in a private courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Set in a private courtyard
Large walled garden with views over the fields  and private seating area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Set in a private courtyard
Large walled garden with views over the fields  and private seating area
Gorgeous garden with secure lock-up shed for bikes
Fully equipped oak & granite kitchen with underfloor heating
Free range eggs for you!
Lots of goodies to buy, all local produce
Breakfast hampers made to order, Full English or Continental
Cosy lounge with wood burning stove and comfy sofas
Homemade cake by Debs as part of your welcome treat!
Handmade oak 4-poster bed by Paul with luxurious bedding
Bespoke furniture with small dressing table and wardrobe
Luxury wetroom with Aqualisa monsoon shower and underfloor heating
Luxury wetroom with Monsoon Aqualisa shower
Fluffy bathrobes to hire if you so wish
Stunning Keswick in winter, just 20 min drive from the cottage
Snowy mountains at Ullswater
Uldale Fells right on your doorstep
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Uldale, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
chrisg155
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“Amazing Stay”
Reviewed 21 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

For anybody looking for a lovely quiet weekend away, this cottage is the perfect choice.

The location is quiet and remote with lovely scenery and a number of nice walks in the immediate vicinity.

The pictures of the cottage are a perfect illustration of the cosy and warm environment that's provided. The cottage is extremely well furnished and we found everything that we needed was available during our stay.

Check in and check out was extremely easy and the cottage was very clean upon arrival. Overall this was the perfect long weekend and we would definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButtLodge
Lochranza, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect country getaway for two”
Reviewed 6 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

After trawling through a million cottages on various sites we came across this hidden gem, and spent a very cozy and relaxing New Year there. Situated in a quiet courtyard shared with a couple of other small properties, just off a small country by-road, we found the cottage to be immaculately presented and extremely well equipped. The bedroom in particular is stunning, with a bespoke wooden bed, shelving and wardrobe/dressing table making the best possible use of the intimate proportions of the room. The lounge has a great little woodburner and the owners are happy for you to adjust the central heating to suit you (unlike a lot of places where it's pre-set and unchangeable making for cold afternoons when you decide to have a lazy day!) There's a gorgeous wee garden out the back, t'was a bit cold to make use of it while we were there but it'd be lovely in the summer, and great to have that extra space. It does back onto a working farm so there were some choice smells from time to time but this is definitely to be expected in the country! Kitchen is also beautiful and very well designed, ditto the bathroom. Ideally located for exploring the northern Lakes, a really nice pootle down to Keswick which has loads of little streets and independent shops to explore, and the cottage has a great information pack including everything from recommended shops, pubs, spas, walks, great if you're not already familiar with the area. All in all an absolutely ideal hideaway for a romantic week or weekend, with very responsive, considerate and accommodating owners - we're already planning a return visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jadenicho...
Cannock, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hidden gem in a perfect location”
Reviewed 19 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

What a wonderful hidden gem, perfect home away from home. Loved the cottage and had all the amenities needed, the log fire and Victoria sponge cake were added bonuses. We will be sure to come back again for a visit! Thanks Deb :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abuk2000
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A relaxing and very well equipped cottage!”
Reviewed 12 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

My wife and I spent a very relaxing weekend in this cottage. The cottage features a very well kitted out kitchen including washing machine and dishwasher. We ordered a breakfast hamper which was delicious. The wood burning stove made the lounge very cosy in the evening. The cottage comes complete with very comfy bedding and thick soft towels. The area is very peaceful and quiet. It took us 25 minutes to reach Carlisle and 20 minutes to reach keswick. I highly recommend this cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2017
Thanks so much Andy & Esther! Please tell friends & family x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dakes25
Cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Perfect Rural Retreat!”
Reviewed 5 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Hidden away in Wainwright’s Northern Fells, we spent a wonderful, crisp and clear weekend in The Grooms Cottage, Uldale. A lot of thought has been taken with the recent refurbishment, it is beautifully fitted out with bespoke furniture, complemented with the excellent choice of soft furnishings and artwork. The Grooms Cottage sits within a quiet courtyard and has a private garden. A superb location with plenty of walking on the doorstop and breath-taking scenery all around, yet close enough to towns and other Lake District attractions if you want to go a bit further by car.

The attention to detail is fabulous and the Cottage is immaculately laid out with everything you need. Especially loved all those little extra touches, like the Honesty Larder and the delicious home baked cake that awaited us on arrival.

Within easy walking distance of Mae’s Tearoom and The Snooty Fox, which offers excellent food and local beer in warm and comfortable surroundings.

A truly great place to stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyneth W
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage, cosy with added extras.”
Reviewed 23 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The Groom’s cottage is situated in Uldale, a small village in the middle of the Cumbrian Fells yet only about ten miles from Keswick.
The owners, Debbie and Paul have used their different skills to make this a really special place. Paul made, or up - cycled most of the wooden furniture, including the very comfortable bed. Debbie welcomes her guests with a home baked delicious cake, bread and some free range eggs.
The cottage has recently been tastefully modernized and is very well equipped, with everything to make your stay here as special as possible.
The Groom’s cottage is within easy reach of Ullswater where we managed to see a red squirrel, as well as stunning views of the lake. If you enjoy walking then this area offers so much.
We thoroughly enjoyed our four night stay here and we’ll be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2017
Thank you very much Gwyneth. So pleased you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing