We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely gallery cafe”

Mae's Tea Room & Gallery
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Uldale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: With everything from teas, coffees, snacks, crafts and evening meals, to wines, beers, gifts and delicious Sunday lunch, this restored Victorian School is must for visitors to the Lake District
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
660 reviews
364 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 538 helpful votes
“Lovely gallery cafe”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Tucked away in the village of Uldale, this lovely tearoom and gallery is well worth finding. We only had tea and scones with homemade jam but care is taken with presentation - sliced fresh strawberries as a garnish - and they serve leaf tea which is always better than tea bags. The gallery itself is a bright open space and most of the work on sale is local. The car park is not for the faint hearted but you can park in the village and walk in. We'll go back for lunch or dinner as we're sure the food will be good.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank fmck49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    23
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A real gem”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Called in as part of a planned cycle ride. Did the sensible thing and called ahead to check opening to avoid disappointment. Was expecting a low key affair as it is so tucked away but were impressed with how the owners have created a real destination tea room. The building has heaps of character and filling with local arts and crafts adds a little extra to the atmosphere. The flap jack was absolutely superb and the chap in charge keep refilling my coffee. We ended up spending far longer than usual and it really added to the day. The cycling this way is superb so if you are looking for a pit stop give mae's a try. Only thing...its at the top of a hill...at least you can restart your journey with a coast back down!

Helpful?
4 Thank head_to_the_hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great village tearooms”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Home baked scones and hot x buns with steaming hot coffee, served with a smile after a day out on the Wainwright fells. Great place to visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank CumbriaPoppins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleator, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“curry night sensation”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Friday night was Curry night. First time for an evening meal and it lived up to the standard we have come to expect from Mae's. We always bring our visitors here for lunch/afternoon tea but we have never been in an evening. We will be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank gillian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newastle Upon Tyne
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Special”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Superb cafe / gallery full of charm and amazing quality food and drinks. Dog friendly. Will be returning here every time we visit the Lake District from now on.

Helpful?
5 Thank DarrenHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mae's Tea Room & Gallery also viewed

Ireby, Lake District
Uldale, Lake District
 
Bassenthwaite, Lake District
Bassenthwaite, Lake District
 
Caldbeck, Lake District
Hesket Newmarket, Cumbria
 

Been to Mae's Tea Room & Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing