We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Snooty Fox

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uldale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Snooty Fox
Ranked #1 of 1 Uldale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Food to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Took mum and dad and friends for a meal on Saturday night, we all thoroughly enjoyed our meals served by friendly and proffesional staff, will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoncasterCaravaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    13
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
17
31
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
123 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012 via mobile

Called in for an evening meal after a good day's hiking and was not disappointed. The food was very good with sizeable portions. The Guinea Fowl stuffed with Cumberland Sausage was very good. The only slight problem was a little bit of a wait as it was a mildly busy but the food was worth it. Very friendly hospitality.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank dso1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

We called in to have lunch today (Sunday) and my wife and I had roast beef with all the trimmings. I have to say the beef was superb, sirloin cooked perfectly is unbeatable in my view.
We also had a creme brulee and a rhubarb crumble. The brulee was just yummy and the crumble was delicious, and more than a fair portion. Good value for money!
The staff are very freindly and we'll definatley go back. Booking on sunday would be recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lallokkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakedistrict
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

You will always get a sincere welcome here from both staff and locals! –who are always interested in welcoming visitors to the area. Pat and Mark are dedicated to excellent food and customer service and that is why as someone in hotel management and who has been lucky enough to eat in some of the finest restaurants/pubs in the world, I would recommend this pub highly. Any negative comments regarding food on Trip Advisor are an insult to Mark as he is a highly trained and experienced chef, known locally to love what he does for a living. British pubs are struggling; why not support one lakedistrict pub where they really do care?!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lukelakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights over the Jubilee week-end. Have eaten here many times and never been disappointed. Lovely room, comfy bed, and settee to watch the telly. Pat and her team were very busy in the restaurant over this period, but it didn't detract from the quality of the food, or the range of food on offer. The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The chef does a very good steak, and not small portions either! Watched the beacons being lit on Monday night over Binsey and towards Skiddaw and across the Solway, and lovely sunset to end the day. After that the weather went downhill, but not my stay at this village Inn. Uldale is a quiet place with Caldbeck and Ireby nearby, with some nice walks not far away. If you want to go shopping on a rainy day Carlisle is only about 20 mins away. Thanks Pat for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

We simply love The Snooty Fox, and we return to it each time we visit the Lake District. Staying up the road from Uldale, we find this pub truly to be our "local" while on holiday. The food is excellent and up to gastropub standards without being pretentious, and the proprietor and staff are very welcoming and fun to chat with. For a relaxing pint and a highly satisfying meal in a warm and comfortable place, you won't find much better. It is definitely a bit off the main roads, but well worth the side trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHerisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Second time that we've booked a large family meal here for a special occasion.

The food is fantastic, with a great range and brilliant specials always available.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravels1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uldale
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
11.1 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
1.5 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#4 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
6.2 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Snooty Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Snooty Fox

Property: The Snooty Fox
Address: The Old School The Snooty Fox Country Inn, Uldale CA7 1HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Uldale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Uldale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Snooty Fox Uldale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing