We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good home cooking”
Review of The Snooty Fox

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uldale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Snooty Fox
Ranked #1 of 1 Uldale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good home cooking”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We called in on a Friday night for dinner. There was no one in the bar area, however as the barman was very helpful we decided to stay. The dog was also made welcome. The food (steak and ale pie and lamb shoulder) was well cooked, the meat fell apart and they were good sized portions. Veg was also tasty, as was the potato of the day, although the portion of dauphinois was small for two people to share. As the bar filled up, the atmosphere improved. The landlady was very friendly. We would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    13
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
19
32
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

We have been going here regularly for 7 years now and had nothing but consistently excellent food, well kept beer and good wine, with welcoming and friendly service. If venison is on the specials, it's an absolute must!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jfretwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We've stayed in Uldale three times, and each time have visited the Snooty Fox for dinner. It never fails to please, with a winning combination of great food and friendly service. If you choose to eat in the pub, then you can take your dog in too! A great favourite of ours: always made to feel welcome with a varied and interesting menu. Be warned - the portions are enormous, so save room for pudding!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireKulagowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Went for meal as a couple and it was warm and welcoming. Staff were friendly. Food was lovely, quite pricey but worth the money as portions were of decent size. Would recommend to friends and family. We did not stay overnight as don't live far away but the rooms looked very comfortable

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VicWil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

This is our second stay at the Snooty Fox. We have woke up again this morning having had quality sleep, to a wholesome breakfast (thanks Mark). Pat you have a really good Team and thanks for your hospitality!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Habfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whalley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I ordered the starter – bacon, black pudding and sausage. I was amused by a 6” x 3” flat solid mass of bacon, black pudding and sausage meat all minced together, accompanied by a tired looking salad – it did not look or taste appealing. My main arrived and as I looked over it, my 8 year old daughter said exactly what I was thinking “Mummy, it looks like slop”. Again, tired looking vegetables, covered in cheese sauce – why would you use cheese sauce on broccoli. The Dauphinoise potatoes were just as bad, very dark potatoes underneath a very heavy cheese sauce. I hardly ate anything and should have complained, but we chose to pay and leave. The next night we stayed in, as I can cook better than this myself. It is pubs like this that take the “Mickey” out of the tourists.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank PatsyPastry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uldale123, Manager at The Snooty Fox, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thank you for your comments but their are a few points in which I'd like to make; Firstly the ' bacon, black pudding and sausage meat' starter is actually a terrine which is generally made of minced or layered meats/ fish/ vegetables layered in a terrine mould not a 'flat solid mass'. Secondly the chopped salads are made freshly each evening before service. Thirdly we take great pride in serving freshly prepared potatoes and vegetables not your usual hard boiled/ frozen variety which are served in most pubs in the area, we DO NOT CHARGE EXTRA for these fresh veg. (Unlike some places) unfortunately you should have got the 'Petit Pois et Frozen Chips'.
And lastly next time you dine out and dislike what you've had please complain and get the problem rectified instead of writing poor comments on trip advisor- Many Thanks Snooty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Rooms where off a good size ,clean and comfortable ,the shower was a bit disappointing going from hot to boiling and then to cold all in the space of a few seconds then repeating the cycle again. the breakfast was good but it was at 8.30 which is far to late for me and thats what would stop me from staying there again .

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uldale123, Manager at The Snooty Fox, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thank you Gerry A for your review I was slightly upset that you didn't feel that you would stay with us again due to our breakfast times, unfortunately we are a small country inn with limited bed space, we try our hardest to make guests feel welcome and cater for their needs but due to demand this is the earliest we do breakfast, maybe next time try larger hotels which are geared up for more people and early breakfast ( also twice the price!!!). Your comments on the shower were taken seriously and checked- shower was working as usual with constant hot water flow when room was remade on your departure, maybe a case of 'modern technology' getting to much for you.
As usual, please, in future inform of us of any problems which you have whilst staying with us and we will try to rectify them- maybe jut for you chef will get up 1/2 hour earlier!!!
Many Thanks Snooty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uldale
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
11.1 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.5 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#4 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
6.2 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Snooty Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Snooty Fox

Property: The Snooty Fox
Address: The Old School The Snooty Fox Country Inn, Uldale CA7 1HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Uldale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Uldale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Snooty Fox Uldale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing