We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely return to this hotel”
Review of The Snooty Fox

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uldale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Snooty Fox
Ranked #1 of 1 Uldale B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Would definitely return to this hotel”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Don't stay here if you have a small appetite or you are anti social. As suggested the breakfast and dinners are huge from an excellent menu and the owner Pat and her staff are friendly and very efficient. The local clientele enjoy the great selection of ales and were keen to share their knowledge of the district - they were lovely people. The bedrooms are spacious and the bathrooms very modern and clean. The hotel is only 20 minutes from the Lake District.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    13
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
21
33
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We called by this pub for an evening meal as it had been recommended. The food was, as has been noted, well cooked and homely, and the beer, a brew specially made for the pub, was excellent.
The landlady was polite and attentive and we were served efficiently and pleasantly, but somehow there was something missing - atmosphere, other folk - I don't quite know. It may be that there had been a massive lunchtime special event with a roast pig and that everyone was tired.
So, perhaps I didn't go at the right time and I wouldn't want to discourage anyone else from going - the food and the beer was well up to scratch, and the drive out there was through some very beautiful Lakeland countriside.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dogcollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We have just come back from our first visit and a great 4 nights at the Snooty Fox. We can honestly say that it is one of the best places we have ever stayed. Comfortable room, welcoming staff and wonderful meals produced by Mark, their very talented chef. So thank you again to Pat, Marie and Mark for your friendly and hospitable service - our first visit but definitely not our last Pat!
(Oh and thanks to the friendly village locals in the pub's Village bar where we had a 'nightcap' each night - we had some great laughs and really enjoyed your company)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CumbriaPoppins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This inn really has it all, fantastic food, great views, real ale and friendly staff. Just had a really wonderful weekend there.
The food is all freshly cooked from locally sourced produce and if you are lucky enough to chat to the friendly chef he will tell you where it all comes from and how it was cooked.

This place is a real gem tucked out of the way but really worth the effort to seek it out

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We have regularly visited the Snooty Fox (over 8+ years) and without fail its our favourite pub in the Lakes.

Wonderful food - particularly the Lamb Shoulder and Fillet Steaks (be prepared to leave very full!) and friendly, approachable staff. Real ales on tap and a decent wine list which should easily satisfy most. Lovely, hidden area of the Northern Lakes, just near back o'Skiddaw for the walkers amongst us and definitely worth a visit for an evening meal.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

We have been to snooty fox for food a good few times now and it's always been of a really high standard!!,
I'd go as far as saying it's the best pub for food around the area (we live in cockermouth)
Everything you order is fresh and tasty, the starters, mains, vegetables and the puddings!!! You get good size portions (although because it's so nice I have to sample all 3 courses because it's so delicious, which usually means I can barely walk because I'm that full- which is a good thing in my eyes!!!)
The staff have always been very friendly and relaxed.
it is also nice to be in a pub that is situated in the countryside that have it all going on!! I would and do recommend the snooty fox to anyone who appreciates good food/service!!!!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sun-money-cocktails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We visited here one evening after a local recommended the pub and stated shed visited here three times in one week! So very high expectations.

Bar staff - very friendly and attentive however i did over hear one of the bar ladies being a little 'off' with another table as the customer requested half chips/half potatoes, hardly seemed too much trouble as the pub wasn't packed out and a thursday night. The attitude just seemed a little unnecessary and the customer seemed a little offended, no harm in asking!

Food was okay, hardly large portions for though. I had the seafood plate, but discovered a piece of plastic in my food, It did put me off and left half my food. I quietly told the young barman who took our plates and he was very apologetic however nothing further was done. My boyfriend had the steak, chips where DELICIOUS, and the side of ratatouille/ragu was so tasty!

Puddings - sticky toffee pud was to die for, definitely homemade and tasted amazing.

Cheese board not so good, hard cheeses, very few of which are to mine and my boyfriends taste and we are cheese lovers. Very little celery, no grapes, and a small pot of chutney which i didn't enjoy.

Overall okay - would probably return if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uldale
1.5 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
530 reviews
3.9 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,626 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#4 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
10.6 mi away
Troutbeck Inn
Troutbeck Inn
#18 of 61 in Penrith
305 reviews
8.5 mi away
Coledale Inn
Coledale Inn
#1 of 6 in Braithwaite
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Snooty Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Snooty Fox

Property: The Snooty Fox
Address: The Old School The Snooty Fox Country Inn, Uldale CA7 1HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Uldale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Uldale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Snooty Fox Uldale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing