We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad experience indeed”
Review of The Snooty Fox

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uldale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Snooty Fox
Ranked #1 of 1 Uldale B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 November 2009

Having greatly enjoyed my one previous meal here, I thought it would be good to break the journey en route to my fathers funeral which was the next day. I phoned the saturday evening to ask whether they did sunday lunch and what time they stopped serving to be told - we serve all day sir. We arrived at 1430, to be greeted in the car park by the chef.
He said words to the effect of 'I'll save you the bother of getting out (which I had already done) because we're closed'.
My reply 'But I phoned last night to confirm you were open',
His retort 'We've never been open on a sunday'. (See the website for the hours)
My reply 'Then please tell the bar staff so they can advise customers correctly'. Would you mind if the girls use the loo before we go?'
His reply 'feel free' and then 'No on second thoughts I dont like your attitiude, you can [--] off, go on bloody [--] off out of our car park!'.
No point pursuing the conversation so we departed, to eat at another open, friendlier hostelry. Later that day I phoned the proprieter who said the chef had related the conversation finding me very aggressive, but had not told her his language. She intimated that she was on the bar that sat eve and hadnt been aware of my call - I must have had a bad line on my mobile and misheard. She wasnt prepared to accept that our witnessed conversation (by my 24 yr old daughter) wasnt aggressive on my part, altho she did say she'd follow up the foul language.
I for one am not prepared to accept the manner and language I was exposed to - even had I misheard the bar staff when I phoned - the we were exposed to tirade was unacceptable.
Make your own minds up! We will not be returning.

Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
11  Thank Steve0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 93 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2009

Went to this pub in October and February, The food is excellent and not your normal bar meals of burger and chips. The staff & locals are very friendly and they take dogs in the snug bar side. We are going back to Uldale in October and will definitely be using the pub again.

PS. didn't get charged for our mints!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fenbrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2007

The food here is excellent however, the prices are above average for this area. It was a shock to be charged for the ubiquitous after dinner-mints which arrived with our coffee, we had ordered the coffee but not the mints. It is this kind of thing that leaves a bad taste - we will not be returning to this pub but we will be back to the area.

Stayed: August 2007
6  Thank MaryTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomas0963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uldale
11.1 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#4 of 17 in Keswick
555 reviews
1.5 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
546 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#4 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
3.9 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,675 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Mill Inn
The Mill Inn
#1 of 1 in Mungrisdale
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Snooty Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Snooty Fox

Address: The Old School The Snooty Fox Country Inn, Uldale CA7 1HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Uldale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Uldale
Price Range: £40 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Snooty Fox Uldale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing