We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful accomodation”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining room - with walking books, maps of all Cumbria and games Lounge with TV, DVD player, stereo with USB and iphone dock
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Dining room - with walking books, maps of all Cumbria and games
Lounge with TV, DVD player, stereo with USB and iphone dock
Games room - table football and air hockey.  Great for evening competitions
Master bedroom has ensuite shower room
Twin bedroom
Back garden
Barbecue and parasol provided for your use
Uldale - behind cottage
Uldale
Loweswater
Whinlatter
Bassenthwaite
Buttermere
Buttermere
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Uldale, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bobbie220
London
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful accomodation”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay with family at Emerald bank at Easter. Beautiful village called Ulldale has a lovely tea room next door which we ate at. They had the best jam and scones ever! (They were also kind enough to sell us butter and milk when we ran out). The village doesn't have a grocery store but it located fantastically well if you like walking and seeing the star's at night. We stood and stared at the stars on the clear nights and there was no distraction from urban lights. We loved the space provided which has comfy sofas and sunny conservatory for relaxation. A well equipped kitchen that has plenty of crockery was very helpful when we cooked our Easter Lamb for all of us plus some visiting family on Easter Sunday. We especially valued the tips and helpful information provided by then owners and we walked 3 out of 4 walks from the door. They all provided stunning views. The teen's and children were happy with the good wi-fi and games rooms so everyone is catered to. Only downsides were sometimes the cowsheds behind the house would provide a 5am wake up alarm when the cows mooed too loudly and we couldn't ever get booked in at the local pub for dinner- perhaps catering for more than 4 people was a tall ask without a month's notice! All the other reccomendations offered by the owners exceeded our expectations and were superb. In summary if you are looking for a week of peacefulness and comfort don't hesitate to book here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The mattress in the master bedroom was too soft
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for your kind review Bobbie. Like you we love the star-filled skies and lovely views around Uldale. I am very glad you had such a good holiday and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kind regards
Kay Wesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
371cheryl
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fab Place to stay!”
Reviewed 8 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We've just returned from a lovely weekend at Emerald Bank. All amenities included and an amazing cottage. Perfect for a family stay. Will definitely be returning! The tea room next door is incredible!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2015
Cheryl, thank you for your lovely comments. It was our pleasure having you and I'm glad you enjoyed it. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail823
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage”
Reviewed 26 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The cottage is a lovely place to stay: quiet, well equipped and comfortable. Glorious location; handy for walks up Little Dodd and The Calder Valley. Cockermouth is also close and is the location of an excellent veggie restaurant: the Quince and Medlar. The Snooty Fox pub is good enough to eat at in the village but the real joy is Mae's cafe (20 yards away)which does excellent evening meals in a lovely atmosphere at the weekend Staying at.Emerald Cottage was a real pleasure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and comfort
Liked least: no cafetiere.Stairs to loft room are a challenge
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2015
Thanks so much for your review. I'm delighted you had a good time and look forward to welcoming you again - Kay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhonaThom...
Ulverston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage for family holiday”
Reviewed 5 September 2015 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was perfect for our stay. Clean, tidy and immaculately decorated throughout. The layout was well thought out to accomdate dogs and walkers.
The pub in the village was great for a family meal
We will definitely stay at Emerald Cottage again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great accomadation and facilities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2015
Thanks Rhona for this lovely review. I am glad you had a good time and I do hope we will see you again soon - Kay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie B
Irvine, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very peaceful, comfortable, spacious accommodation”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

First visit to small village of Uldale with family ranging from 2 to 67. Views were fantastic and good walks from the cottage, be prepared for the inclines! Property was well decorated, clean and modern bathroom facilities. Kitchen big enough and well stocked with cooking facilities/utensils. Nice touch was the tea, coffee and biscuits for us on arrival. Sadly weather too nice to use the coal fire! Enjoyed using the conservatory and rear garden area. Enough parking for our two cars. The wi-fi kept the teenagers in our party happy. Could of stayed another week, would recommend a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quietness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julcee
Oxford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Relaxation, everything we needed including maps and walks - all in all a perfect stay.”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This place was a delight. Further out than I usually stay the property made up for in amenity and peace. Being off the beaten track nights were so silent, perfect for a refreshing sleep. The maps in the bookcase helped no end in planning our days as the weather dictated - which behaved beautifully!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsLindaB
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very comfortable well equipped cottage with all home comforts . Great place to stay with family or friends.”
Reviewed 16 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Have just enjoyed a second stay at this cottage with friends. It's in a beautiful location in a quiet area of the Lakes with lots of walks nearby. The lovely village of Caldbeck is about 5 miles away.
The cottage has everything you could need for a walking holiday. It's very clean, well equipped and comfortable. Will be staying there again in future hopefully.
The local pub is about one or two minutes walk away and offers very nice meals and good beer!
There is a tea-room a few doors away which does offer evening meals at weekends. However, from a disappointing experience, it is better to use the pub for meals and the tea room for tea and cakes!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage had everything we needed and felt like a home from home.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing