We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Children and pets, no problem!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining room - with walking books, maps of all Cumbria and games Lounge with TV, DVD player, stereo with USB and iphone dock
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Dining room - with walking books, maps of all Cumbria and games
Lounge with TV, DVD player, stereo with USB and iphone dock
Games room - table football and air hockey.  Great for evening competitions
Master bedroom has ensuite shower room
Twin bedroom
Back garden
Barbecue and parasol provided for your use
Uldale - behind cottage
Uldale
Loweswater
Whinlatter
Bassenthwaite
Buttermere
Buttermere
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Uldale, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mfharris6...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Children and pets, no problem!”
Reviewed 7 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

A very well maintained and equipped property in a quiet hamlet with attractive views of surrounding area.
Excellent accommodation for young children and dog made our stay very relaxing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Able to accommodate a pet.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2016
Thank you for your kind words. I do hope you will come and stay again soon! Best regards, Kay and Mike.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue O
2 reviews
“Lovely, well equipped cosy cottage in a beautiful area of the Lakes”
Reviewed 21 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had a fantastic time at Emerald Bank Cottage with our three teenagers and my parents. We lit the fire, watched the cows go by and drank lots of wine.

Two of our group are coeliac and it was brilliant to discover the local pub the Snooty Fox offering good quality, gluten-free food, as well as Mae's tearoom, which is a stone's throw from the cottage.

As well as all the fab walking with our dogs around Bassenthwaite Lake we played tennis at a full size court close to the cottage.

We would love to return for a longer stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosiness of it.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for this kind review. We enjoy staying at Emerald Bank Cottage so we are glad you did too. Please do come back again. Kind regards, Kay and Mike.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cath M
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely well equipped cottage”
Reviewed 4 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Had a great stay at Emerald Bank, helped by wall to wall sunshine! Very well equipped and comfortable cottage. Great wifi for kids and conservatory for the olds!. Lovely meal at the Snooty Fox and tea and cake at Mae's tearoom. Unbelievable scenery at Loweswater and Crummock Water and great pitch and putt at Keswick.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastically well equipped kitchen
Liked least: Master bedroom mattress too soft for me and no cafeteire!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2016
Cath, thank you so much for coming to stay and for your kind review. I'm glad you had a good time and look forward to welcoming you again. Kay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben_86_Ca...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Walking Holiday in the Lakes”
Reviewed 15 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Had a great stay at Emerald Bank. Lovely house - very clean and well stocked. Great location to explore the Northern Lakes.
Communication from the host and info. in the cottage both excellent.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2016
Dear Ben, thanks so much for staying and for writing this kind review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope we will see you again. Kay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kafsmif
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic ”
Reviewed 3 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Absolutely fabulous cottage to explore the northern Lake District. It was spotless when we arrived, has a brilliantly equipped kitchen and amenities and is warm, spacious and well furnished. We appreciated the information booklet and walk suggestions too.

A visit to Mae's Tea Room next door is a must!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2016
Thank you for coming to stay and for your lovely comments. I am glad you enjoyed it and do hope we will see you again soon. Kay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbie220
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful accomodation”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay with family at Emerald bank at Easter. Beautiful village called Ulldale has a lovely tea room next door which we ate at. They had the best jam and scones ever! (They were also kind enough to sell us butter and milk when we ran out). The village doesn't have a grocery store but it located fantastically well if you like walking and seeing the star's at night. We stood and stared at the stars on the clear nights and there was no distraction from urban lights. We loved the space provided which has comfy sofas and sunny conservatory for relaxation. A well equipped kitchen that has plenty of crockery was very helpful when we cooked our Easter Lamb for all of us plus some visiting family on Easter Sunday. We especially valued the tips and helpful information provided by then owners and we walked 3 out of 4 walks from the door. They all provided stunning views. The teen's and children were happy with the good wi-fi and games rooms so everyone is catered to. Only downsides were sometimes the cowsheds behind the house would provide a 5am wake up alarm when the cows mooed too loudly and we couldn't ever get booked in at the local pub for dinner- perhaps catering for more than 4 people was a tall ask without a month's notice! All the other reccomendations offered by the owners exceeded our expectations and were superb. In summary if you are looking for a week of peacefulness and comfort don't hesitate to book here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The mattress in the master bedroom was too soft
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for your kind review Bobbie. Like you we love the star-filled skies and lovely views around Uldale. I am very glad you had such a good holiday and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kind regards
Kay Wesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
371cheryl
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fab Place to stay!”
Reviewed 8 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We've just returned from a lovely weekend at Emerald Bank. All amenities included and an amazing cottage. Perfect for a family stay. Will definitely be returning! The tea room next door is incredible!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2015
Cheryl, thank you for your lovely comments. It was our pleasure having you and I'm glad you enjoyed it. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing