We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful House and a Brilliant Stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Butler's House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ulverston, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
janeypric...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful House and a Brilliant Stay”
Reviewed 24 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

I really would highly recommend this beautiful house in the Lake District. The house itself was wonderfully clean and modern whilst still retaining all of the gorgeous features. It was lovely and warm in the house which was great as the weather was terrible. We lit the fire and there was plenty of dry firewood in the house. The fire had already been made up for lighting on our arrival which was a really nice touch. There was also a beautiful homemade lemon drizzle cake left for us and we really enjoyed it. There is plenty of small touches here e.g. Hair dryer, iron and ironing board, dishwasher, some sauces etc in the kitchen which just make for a really convenient stay. The location for Ulverston itself could not be any better. It was also so easy to get around to plenty of other places in such a short time. Can't wait to go back :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2017
Thank you for the lovely review. It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and we look forward to seeing you again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Y8049LP
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy, comfortable stay”
Reviewed 5 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Stayed here for a weekend at the races. Great location, right in the centre of Ulverston and only a ten minute walk to the station. The house itself is amazing - beautiful decor with a really welcoming feel. The house was actually more spacious than we expected (though it is cosy it is definitely not cramped!) The beds were very comfortable and the entire house very clean. The owners provide a great deal of information about the surrounding areas and are more than happy to help with any questions you may have (whether before or during your stay). Everything was perfect, we are already planning our next stay here!

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for the lovely review. It was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaronMcDo...
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very comfortable cottage in good location”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We had a wonderful time at the Butler's House. The cottage is stylishly decorated and newly refurbished. Beds were comfortable, lovely bathroom, everything was really clean. All mod cons to make this a real home-away-from home. The cottage is in an ideal location near to the town, easy to walk within a few minutes. Great base to explore the beautiful Lake District. Would thoroughly recommend this accommodation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2017
Thank you for the lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenThom...
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful House, Fantastic Location, Beautiful Surroundings”
Reviewed 2 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The Butler's House is an absolutely wonderful place to stay the location was brilliant, just off the town centre on a cobbled street which provided peace and quiet but with the bonus of a 1 minute walk to a choice of restaurants, pubs and quaint shops. After a 4 hour drive we were grateful to find fresh milk in the fridge for a cup of tea and the most amazing homemade Lemon Drizzle cake, it was to die for and I have to confess to eating most of it to my shame. The house itself is spotlessly clean, and very tastefully decorated with the comfiest beds we have possibly ever had the pleasure to sleep in. Communication with the owners was excellent with a fantastic amount of useful information provided about the facilities at the house which were excellent, local attractions and great suggestions for eating out. On the owners recommendation, we tried the Rose & Crown, the food and service was excellent. We also made a visit to Amigos Mexican restaurant which had a lovely relaxed atmosphere and good food.

Looking forward to returning here again in the future, a perfect place to unwind and relax with so much close by, would certainly recommend 100%.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2017
Thanks for the lovely review Karen. It was a pleasure hosting you :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake District, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tonyreeve...
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding ”
Reviewed 30 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016


Everything from the initial booking to our departure was outstanding.

The booking was effective and simple, the arrival was just as explained but the added extra of a homemade lemon drizzle cake to enjoy ticked the added extras box.

The weather wasn't kind to us on our arrival day, so to see the open log burning fire with all the accessories to hand to get it started was very welcoming and the logs were burning brightly after only 10 mins from starting the fire.

The house itself, which was ideal for the 4 adults who visited, it was exceptionally clean, very well equipped and extremely comfortable for our weekend break. Additionally, it's central location was ideal, just a 30 second walk to shops, bars and restaurants.

All in all, an ideal facility, allowing you to enjoy a short walk into Ulverston and good surrounding roads to enable access to many of the villages, towns or lakes you'd enjoy visiting in the South Lakes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2016
Thank you Anthony for your lovely review. I am so pleased you enyoyed your stay. We hope to see you again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WessexZoe
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lake District chic”
Reviewed 24 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We spent a lovely week at the Butlers House in April.
The house was perfectly decorated to a high standard with quirky touches of Lake District chic. The kitchen was well equipped...and had everything we didn't even know we needed including sandwich bags! A necessity for those day trips. The beds were very comfortable and the house was exceptionally clean.
The location was great too - very short walk to the shops of Ulverston and well located for day trips out. i was travelling with children so visits included Ullswater, the high nets at Windermere, a farm in Bouth and much more.
Highly recommend - looking forward to a future visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor and location
Liked least: It was all great!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2016
Thank you for your lovely review Zoe - we look forward to seeing you again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing