We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Typically "Quaint" English Pub”
Review of White Hart Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Hart Inn
Ranked #8 of 26 Ulverston B&B and Inns
Abergavenny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Typically "Quaint" English Pub”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here 3 nights to attend a family wedding in the area, our room was clean, tidy but a bit low as it was in the attic of the property which was a bit of a challenge as I'm 6' 4", however I managed without serious damage!
The room was adequate but no shower because the room wasn't tall enough and the plumbing was a little quirky but it all worked in a fashion!
The breakfast was good and the evening meals were good also but as the pub is very popular the service was occasionally stretched but the meals were typical "pub grub" type which suited our taste and budget.
The staff were very helpful and friendly and the beers were to a good standard, overall a nice area and the pub was adequate but the rooms were not to "Travelodge type" standard but as I said in the title you could summarise it to a quaint pub with character?

Room Tip: Room 1 & 2 are full height and have a shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iantofp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    29
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
17
55
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Had 3 great days in the Lakes using the pub as a base. Have used the pub a number of times before for beers and the occasional meal but never stayed here before. Rooms though not enormous are plenty big enough, though watch the beams in 5 :-), and were kept clean and tidy at all times.

Pub itself is a mix of really friendly locals and tourists but tends to be just residents later in the evenings as the locals need to be up early :-). Beers kept well and food good as always.

Owners Nigel & Danny and their team made us feel really welcome and we'll definitely be returning when we can find a few days free :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stedav99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,333 reviews
299 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 688 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

First the positives. The pub had a great atmosphere with a combination of village locals and visitors, a good choice of beers, and served decent traditional food. Breakfast was also OK and served a bit earlier than the normal 8.30 start to accommodate. Thanks.

However, I found the room (2) disappointing in a number of ways. Everything felt tired and dirty and the cardinal sin of a carpet in the bathroom was committed! The electric heater did not seem to work. Curtains let in most of the daylight from 5.30am. Felt 'itchy' which hopefully only reflected a few unwelcome bugs from the surrounding (beautiful) countryside that had sneaked into the room before arrival. Heard movements from all surrounding rooms and stairwell.

Lovely countryside, great views from room, free and plentiful parking at the rear but, all in all, not a place I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sleep007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed here for three nights over the Easter weekend; me, wife, three-year old son. Arrived on Good Friday when it was very, very busy and were lucky to get the last parking space. Showed to a family room, number 4, on the 2nd floor; good size, very comfortable, but watch your head on the beams! Bathroom not en suite but is private and directly opposite the room, which we knew before booking. However, you have to be careful not to get locked out of both room and bathroom when you're having a bathroom visit in the middle of the night!

An excellent breakfast is served in a first-floor dining room with a massive window overlooking rolling farmland. Glorious! Choice of yoghurts, fruits, cereals and enough cooked options including smoked salmon. Nice sized portions here; not too big.

Pub itself is a nice traditional country boozer that seems very popular with locals and out-of-towners like us. Thoroughly enjoyed the Laughing Gravy ale. I'm a little surprised to see such glowing reviews of the food on here because our meals over three nights were no more than OK, and one - a Moroccan Lamb - was horrible with far too much cinnamon. This is the only place to eat around so bear that in mind but do not let it put you off staying here.

Room Tip: Check whether the room is en suite before you book. If you get room 4, keep your wits about you to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bebirdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a break in the Lakes, was recommended this pub, they managed to squeeze us in at a table in the bar area, food was excellent and the place is very atmospheric, would definitely eat here again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Samkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My husband , 2 dogs and I had a lovely stay at the the white hart inn , from the moment we arrived we were given a warm welcome from the staff until the moment we left , you can see the staff work has team and are happy in their work , the food was 1st class lamb henry and steak n Guinness pie amazing . It's a great find and we most certainly will be returning very soon.

Room Tip: Room 2 has an amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abc1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

This is an excellent country pub which we visited at New Year. A brilliant selection of ales and beautiful food served next to the open fire. Great all round and we will definitely be visiting whenever we are in this area of the lakes!

Staff are very friendly, the only improvement would be if the menus were on the tables.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank DM-lds4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulverston
9.1 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
12.8 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
500 reviews
2.5 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Virginia House
Virginia House
#12 of 26 in Ulverston
77 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rusland Pool Hotel
Rusland Pool Hotel
#1 of 2 in Haverthwaite
372 reviews
9.5 mi away
Fishermans Arms
Fishermans Arms
#10 of 26 in Ulverston
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Inn

Property: White Hart Inn
Address: Bouth, Ulverston LA12 8JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Ulverston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ulverston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your White Hart Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel Ulverston
White Hart Inn Ulverston, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing