We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Priceline
£65
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
80
42
6
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
80
42
6
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub the black sheep breakfast room goats cheese steak and ale pie lake district full english beautiful surroundings sticky toffee pudding yogurt porridge couldn't do enough beams meal thermidor beers locals
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 144 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

We only stayed one night because we were visiting friends in the area. It was a delightful stay - everyone was so friendly and welcoming, the bed was very comfortable, shower was good and the room very clean. I can't comment on the food because we went to our friends' home but breakfast was delicious; made to order and not buffet style. A lovely little village - I wished we had stayed longer.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank lottiencol
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed one night here with our dog. Staff were pleasant and friendly. Room was clean and modern with spectacular views of surrounding countryside. We had our Saturday evening meal in the bar where our dog was also welcome. Great quality food and huge portions. Breakfast was lovely with a good selection of items which were served quickly. The village itself is very peaceful and picturesque. Would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 January 2016

Lovely old Inn with very accommodating staff.
Food was fantastic,hearty and plenty, just what was needed after a day on Coniston old man.
Lots of hot water and a lovely comfortable room.
Would recommend a stay here and most defiantly a meal.

Room tip: Room 3 only had a bath with hand held shower that may be difficult for some. However family room was excellent.
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine0941
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
whitehartinn, Owner at White Hart Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2016

Thanks for your review Lorraine much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2015

spent 2 nights here after a week on narrowboat Falkirk to Edinburgh (so much fun, by the way). This is an excellent old traditional pub with a few rooms to let out. Don't go expecting modern, Mercure standard facilities. Instead, look out for ancient beams, crooked floors, real fires and so on. Just perfect. Breakfast is really excellent and to order. Great location with lovely views and friendly cows!

Rooms are basic, but have good beds and bathrooms. Ours had baths but you can have showers on lower floor rooms. Tea and coffee in room was nice. Only niggle is bed size. Had this at Lincoln hotel too. Most places have kingsize beds now. Standard doubles are out of date. Time to move on.

Other than that, loved it, food superb both evenings. Staff great. Will return one day, I hope.

Room tip: Top floor rooms have baths and are quieter.
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 September 2015

Little gem of a place rooms could do with up dating but done the job food excellent wonderful choice of wines & beers breakfast super hot & tasty great staff plenty to do in area make sure you book table for dinner very popular place

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liverpool2528
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews