We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JUST THE BEST.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ulverston
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed here for one day as my daughter was being a junior zoo keeper for the day at the near by zoo and decided to make a weekend of it, I was looking at travel lodge and holiday inn hotels to stay when I came across this little gem, this was the perfect b&b and the host sue couldn't do enough, she was so welcoming and nothing was to much trouble, although we had tea and coffee facilities in our room she made us one herself and treated the children to chocolate biscuits, ( put a smile on there face.) the house was lovely and clean and very spacecious, the bathroom and shower was great, had a really good night sleep and when we had breakfast we couldn't fault this at all, a great variety including cereal, fresh fruit, cereal bars and a lovely full English, ( sausage was fabulous.). Really felt at home while we was there and didn't want to go (and leave Chester, the dog).
Thanks again sue for letting us share your home, it was beautiful, thank you
From Tracey,Jeff,Adam,Emily. X

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Tracey I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

Sue made my Mother's stay in the Lake District very special. She continually went the extra mile and brightened everyone's day with her warm welcome. Seawood is situated on the peaceful bay where the views are breathtaking. While the B+B itself is light, spacious with an atmosphere of refreshing tranquility. The breakfast menu is extensive and Mum reported that it was delicious. I give Seawood top marks and express my utter thanks to Sue for everything she did to make my Mum's stay very special.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeBeer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed here for one night only on a trip to the South Lakes Wild Animal Park in September. What a treat! Sue [and Chester] were so welcoming and kind. We had tea and coffee on arrival, menu suggestions for our evening meal and an absolutely beautiful breakfast the following morning. The attention to detail is excellent. I would recommend it to anyone looking for somewhere clean, comfortable, welcoming and with a view to die for.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stumbled across this lovely bnb on hotels.com and was very impressed with all the fantastic reviews it had received. Stayed there on Sat 21/9 and had a great time. Sue was lovely and welcoming. The room was bright and clean and breakfast was delicious. Chester (The b&bs dog was also very cute!) hoping to return very soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xgrace26990x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My husband, 17 year old daughter and I stayed for a weekend at Sea Wood B & B and had lovely relaxing time.
Sue was very friendly and welcoming and the room was bright, clean and comfortable. A choice of cereal, yoghurts,fresh fruit, croissants plus full English for breakfast was delicious and was a great start to the day, with us just needing a small snack at lunch to last us until dinner.

The location was beautiful and the views across the bay amazing.
The area is good for walks but the local town was 5 minutes drive away so own transport is needed to explore the area fully.
We had a very relaxing break. Only one criticism was breakfast perhaps being later, say 9.30 as we were there to recharge our batteries and with the walking and fresh air we certainly could have done with an extra hour in bed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I recently stayed at the Sea Wood with my husband and two sons for two nights, and we loved every minute of our stay. After the hectic pace of London and Edinburgh, we were happy to unwind at this cozy spot at the southern end of the Lakes District. You won't find a more welcoming host than Sue Arnold, and she couldn't have been more helpful. Don't let the industrial park on the way in scare you off -- the only view at the Sea Wood is a beautiful beach that is perfect for long walks. Breakfast was delicious and the house immaculate and quiet. The only critique we had is we wished for screens on the windows to keep out the bugs (just a few). Sue recommended we spend the day at nearby Windmere instead of driving all the way to Keswick, and she was perfectly right! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LydiaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My wife and I stopped for 2 nights B&B at Sea Wood and were very happy here. It's a good quiet location and I doubt you'd find a friendlier welcome than you'd get from Sue. Reasonably priced and preferences catered for. Out of town by a good way, so own transport needed, but we were fully aware of that at time of booking. Our room spacious and comfortable. Breakfast excellent. Recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plankspanker100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulverston
2.0 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#5 of 5 in Ulverston
40 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lonsdale House Hotel
Lonsdale House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Ulverston
76 reviews
5.3 mi away
Abbot Hall Hotel
Abbot Hall Hotel
#10 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
512 reviews
4.7 mi away
Uplands Garden Restaurant & Hotel
8.7 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast

Address: Canal Foot, Ulverston LA12 9EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ulverston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ulverston
Price Range: £63 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Relax Your Cares Away" Sea Wood is located on the edge of the market village of Ulverston and is set against the backdrop of serene and pristine scenery. You can truly immerse yourself in the beauty of nature, go for a reflective walk, go fishing at either shore or canal right at our doorstep, explore the area by cycling, set up your artist’s easel and capture the moment on canvas or take some stunning photographs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Wood Bed And Breakfast Ulverston, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing