We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ensuite shower room”
Review of Red Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Lion Inn
Ranked #2 of 26 Ulverston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

Steve was very welcoming and cheerful. The bar had a lovely warm log fire and old oak beams but otherwise the decor was a bit tired in the bar and lounge. Excellent free wifi. The bedroom was small but well heated and nicely furnished. The ensuite shower room was great with a powerful easily controlled shower. Dinner was tasty but nothing adventurous. The breakfast was truly gargantuan and would suit anyone planning to walk thirty miles or more! Porridge was a particular highlight: a generous bowl served with lashings of cream.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyflame16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2013

Just returned from our stay at The Red Lion I have to stay the welcome was wonderful and Steve made us feel comfortable from when we first walked through the door, The room was lovely and very warm. The meal was Fantastic and most reasonably priced. I would recommend this to anyone .The breakfast wonderful and the lady very friendly .

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cirus007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Me and my husband have just spent 2 days at the red Lion. The nowner and staff are incredibly friendly and welcoming as our the locals. They had a very relaxed attitude about our dog with no restrictions and only a small charge. The food was what I would refer to as traditional pub food, all very well cookjed and decent portions. The rooms were spacious and had all the facities you would expect to have in a B&B.
It as also a good location for walking. I would recomentd if for those who want a base for walking or just wish a quiet get away.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blistergoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

After reading the reviews of this pub i decided to book 2 nights for me and my partner. All of the reviews are good for this pub and i see why, Steve the landlord is a really laid back guy and very friendly, as are the other 2 staff here, always make time to have a chat with you, unlike the staff at other pubs i've stayed in while in the lakes! Also the locals are great, they like to have a good chat with guests too, they are really nice genuine people.
One of the locals had left the pub with her husband, then a while later she came back in alone saying she'd lost her husband, but decided to drink a little more while she was there, she had the whole pub in stitches laughing because she was so drunk lol! really good night!
The food is lovely, i had two different meals while here and both were very nice and they filled me nicely (i can eat for england, so this proves the portions are good!) the ales are very good too as people have mentioned, and the prices are very good too, also the breakfast is very filling and top quality, you can have cereal too, juice, tea & coffee.
The rooms are fine, they're warm, very clean and comfortable, someone on here said they need updating, but i certainly didn't find this to be bad at all, as i said the rooms are fine and very well cleaned :)
The pub is in a nice location, just a few miles from coniston where there are shops, pubs, cafes, boat hire etc, and if you need cash go in the post office where you can draw cash for free.
The views from the pub are stunning! Inside the pub are low ceilings and beams, a very nice cosy pub. Steve deserves some praise as he's up very early to cook for everybody and make them drinks, he also stays a while when everybody has gone to bed or left, he works very hard and does a very good job!
Nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff, the locals are brilliant, the pub is very nice, good location, good rooms, good food, good beer, good prices and all delivered with a smile! Cannot praise this pub enough, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this pub to everyone of any age! We'll definately be staying again as you really do feel welcome here!
Thanks to everyone at the red lion for a very nice stay :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yorkslad_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We booked a last minute 4 night break here, arriving on a Saturday early evening, sun was shining, so after being shown to our very clean and comfortable double ensuite room, we went down to the bar for a drink and sat outside in the beer garden at the rear, views were fantastic! We had our evening meal there, home cooked food was delicious, in fact we ate there 3 nights out of 4! Also top marks for the cooked breakfast, best we have had, and we have stayed in a few b&b's and hotels. It really felt like coming home each night, after being out all day walking, climbing etc., we would definitely stay here again, Steve and Lucy were the perfect hosts, genuine people, warm and friendly, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catriona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We were lucky enough to book into the Red lion as nothing was available at Newby Bridge.
We loved it ... just the type of accommodation we were wanting while travelling the UK. As soon as we walked in the door we felt 'at home'.The meals and the company of locals and other travellers during the stay will take alot of beating. Highly recommend staying here. :-)

Room Tip: Have a GPS to help find it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed here for the first time last weekend arriving on the Saturday night and liked it immensley. Our room was large, airy and adequately furnished with an ensuite bathroom. The room had tea/coffee facilities as well as bottled water and there fluffy towels and shampoo/shower gel provided in the bathroom. The staff were very friendly and helpful as were the locals in the bar. We had a very enjoyable meal and a hearty breakfast the following morning. What the Red Lion lacks in luxury it makes up for with its warm welcome and was well worth the money. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: We had a front room with a view and on Sunday morning saw herds of cows and sheep beneath our window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Polly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulverston
5.4 mi away
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ulverston
95 reviews
4.8 mi away
Lonsdale House Hotel
Lonsdale House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Ulverston
78 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#5 of 5 in Ulverston
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Farmers Arms Lowick Green
4.8 mi away
Virginia House
Virginia House
#12 of 26 in Ulverston
85 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rusland Pool Hotel
Rusland Pool Hotel
#1 of 2 in Haverthwaite
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn

Address: Lowick Bridge | Nr Coniston, Ulverston LA12 8EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ulverston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ulverston
Price Range: £73 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
traditional 18th century lakeland pub with low beamed ceiling and log fires in the winter .beautiful veiws of the old man of coniston from our beer terrace.We have three lovely en-suite rooms ,2 double and 1 twin all with countryside views .situated just off the A5084 2 miles south of lake coniston .an ideal place to stay if your touring the lakes or working in the area .You wont be dissapointed . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Ulverston
Red Lion Inn Ulverston, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing