We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely, friendly place to stay”
Review of Red Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Lion Inn
Ranked #2 of 26 Ulverston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights as we were attending a family wedding in Ulverston. We received a very warm welcome from all staff, who were extremely polite, helpful and hard-working. The rooms were spotless and the food was delicious! We had full English breakfast and my husband was particularly impressed with the bury black pudding! In the evening we had ribs, lasagne and the children's sausage and mash, which were all delicious and the portions were very big! We will definitely stay again next time we are visiting relatives! Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsBrooks123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Having taken a wrong turn, we stumbled across this oldey worldey pub. Went in, had a beer, chatted with friendly locals and stayed for dinner!! Dog friendly, child friendly, and great traditional pub food with a nice selection of ales. I had the Beer & Mushroom pie, hubby went off the special board and had Chilli, boys had scampi and lasagne, huge portions, nice and hot. Saw a variety of meals being taken out, they all looked delicious and plentiful. Next time I'm opting for the haddock!! Wish we had discovered this little pub at the start of our holiday. See you again soon.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank StreetTriple 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

we stayed here for 2 nights with our dog, we recieved a very warm welcome from the landlord and all the staff, the landlord quickly made friends with our dog - he has a big jar of doggie treats, that he treated her to each time we visited the bar. The b&b facilities were clean and totally acceptable, the breakfast are gut busting and delicious.
We ate in the pub for the 2 nights we stayed and there was no problem with having the dog in the bar whilst we ate. We will stay here again when we next visit the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sweetcheeks_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We 3,hubb cloe the dog & I. Stayed 3nights..wish we had 4/5/nights...Eat ever night in the bar..our dog laid under the table..no problems.. Folk night was on the evening we arrived.
Watt we herd was great ....we wear tierd..so we had early night hardly heard thing..{music}..
Did not keep us awake..

FOOD...BRILL....ROOM...BRILL...Clean towels ever day.
ALL THE STAFF WEAR BRILL...POLIGHT, CURTIES,...Food was good...
LOCIALS..very nice people. Chatted to us..

The local brew, was lovely..had pint most nights..
THE ONLY THING I WOULD SAY IS THE BREW NEEDS TO SPEND SOME MONEY ON UPDATING THE ROOMS...{SHOWER}...
AS THIS IS NO REFECLTION ON THE GOOD BRILL STAFF AND MANGERS..
WHOM IN TIME MAY LOOSE CUSTOM..IF THE BREW..DONT SPEND MONEY..ON THIS LOVLEY pub B&B..inn.

The location for the lakes..is very good...the plus for us was able take our cloe the dog with us with no fuss or rules regs in the bar. Or room.

Room Tip: choose number 3..thats watt we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We were staying along the road, happily walking distance, from The Red Lion. We went in on the first day of our holiday for dinner and found it really nice. The staff were really welcoming and even though it seemed a bit deserted to begin with, it soon filled up with locals. The children were made very welcome also
The food was lovely, simple but delicious and decent sized portions. And they certainly know how to look after their beer! Also the soft drinks selection was very good. The beer garden has a lovely view of Old Man (when it wasn't hidden in cloud!) and visitors should have a peek into the garden next door..no spoilers.
We would recommended it to anyone. Long may it last! We'll be going back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank CurlyClaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

6 of us, the meat dishes were good, avoid the fish and chips and the reheated chilli (the order for this was forgotten about then 'ping' a few minutes later it arrived.)

But, The Cumberland sausage and steak pie were really good, great portions and if we went back would be the thing to choose. Puddings were good too and good value.

Pub grub, nothing more nothing less.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Tommy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We booked onto a walking tour of the Lake District and started here. We arrived by cab, and after a third generation local cab driver had not even heard of it, I was worried. But should not have done. Really friendly service, great tasty food.
Small room, but all you need,

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fat_Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulverston
5.4 mi away
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ulverston
95 reviews
4.8 mi away
Lonsdale House Hotel
Lonsdale House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Ulverston
78 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#5 of 5 in Ulverston
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Farmers Arms Lowick Green
4.8 mi away
Virginia House
Virginia House
#12 of 26 in Ulverston
85 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rusland Pool Hotel
Rusland Pool Hotel
#1 of 2 in Haverthwaite
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn

Address: Lowick Bridge | Nr Coniston, Ulverston LA12 8EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ulverston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ulverston
Price Range: £73 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
traditional 18th century lakeland pub with low beamed ceiling and log fires in the winter .beautiful veiws of the old man of coniston from our beer terrace.We have three lovely en-suite rooms ,2 double and 1 twin all with countryside views .situated just off the A5084 2 miles south of lake coniston .an ideal place to stay if your touring the lakes or working in the area .You wont be dissapointed . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Ulverston
Red Lion Inn Ulverston, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing