We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Like stepping back in time but with mod cons!””

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pomona Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 26 Ulverston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 July 2013

A beautiful old house dating from 1616, lovingly restored with a real feel of history, the Pomona B & B provided us with a restful setting, comfortable rooms and a level of service to be commended. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsApe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindajneill, Owner at Pomona Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We work so hard to ensure our guests enjoy their stay with us and to receive a comment like this makes it all feel worth while and rewarding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013

went on my own for the weekend as my wife was away with her frieds,arrived to a very warm welcome,made to feel at home straight away. Buitifull room very comfortable bed.Went for a ride came back had a shower and of to the local for my evening meal just5 mins walk away great food.After a great nights sleep didnt actually want to get out of bed, downstairs to my favourite meal of the day and that was absoloutly delicious. I will definatley be going back to here with my wife later on in the year.great place to stay great people running it. Bad pionts.. had to go home and the weather on Saturday but hey thats the lakes... gods back garden

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gareth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Excellent B&B

We are just back after a great four night stay in this lovely place. Pomona B&B is a gorgeous little cottage near the south end of Coniston Water.

Although we had seen the picture of the room, we were nicely surprised by the detailed Victorian decoration and nice touches. The atmosphere was very relaxed and friendly and we very much enjoyed the company of other guests during breakfast around the common round table. There was a great variety of options for breakfast, including a range of fruits, cereals, yogurts and the delicious full English breakfast.

The owners, Steve and Linda, were superb hosts and helped us make the most of our stay. We admittedly had not planned our days in advance and Steve's suggestions and detailed instructions (and maps!) about walking routes really made our holidays.

Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inigo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

My husband and I stayed at Pomona earlier in the year and had a LOVELY two night stay. When we realised we would be in the area again, we asked if we could have a one night booking for July as my husband is in Germany and we would ahve to get him back to the airport - so 2 nights were out of the question.
The owners were so accomodating, saying yes and not bothering with a deposit as they knew we would stick to our word - so nice to stay with lovely, down to earth and honest people.
The rooms are decorated in authentic Victorian style.
There is not television in the rooms - but we don't need one as we are outdoors all day and sleep when we get in.
We LOVED the bath (rooms each have a shower, but there is a public bath). We used this every night! it is HUGE and there is a ginormous range of bubbly things to put in it... so our favourite thing was brewing up after a long day, taking our cuppas to the bathroom, and luxuriating in delicious bubbles together while chatting about the day's events. Luxury.
The B&B is exceptionally clean (gee, it myst be hard keeping on top of the Victorian style). Breakfast is generous and delicious. The dog is LOVELY:) The room we occupied had no view, but we had spent all day cycling and running IN the view, so this did not bother us. Really easy, short walk to pubs where delicious meal (best mixed grill EVER) was had.
We look forward to going back

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dofchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindajneill, Owner at Pomona Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2011

We greatly appreciate positive comments like this. However, as owners there are a couple of points which could be construed as negative, i.e., the bedrooms are decorated in period style and a television would not be in keeping, there is however a television in the guest lounge.
Also, the view from the bedroom is only temporarily obstructed by scaffolding whilst a nearby barn is being re-roofed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

The Pomona is a great B&B. The owners Steve & Linda are excellent hosts. Nothing is too much trouble for them. The local pub, Farmers Arms, serves good meals & is a very short stroll away. The B&B has only three rooms, two with en-suite, so it feels like you are staying in a friend's home. On each of our returns back to the Pomona from the pub, a roaring log fire greeted us. The 'full English' breakfast is truly scrumptious, including thick bacon rashers & 'proper' sausages. There are locally sourced jams to add to the copious amounts of toast. Pots of these jams are also for sale. Anyone cannot fail but have a very enjoyable time there.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colinHaydock_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AntonioMus8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindajneill, Owner at Pomona Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria_fuents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ulverston hotels
4.8 mi away
Lonsdale House Hotel
Lonsdale House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Ulverston
79 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ulverston
95 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#4 of 5 in Ulverston
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#4 of 26 in Ulverston
108 reviews
4.8 mi away
Virginia House
Virginia House
#13 of 26 in Ulverston
84 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Farmers Arms
The Farmers Arms
#2 of 8 in Ulverston
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pomona Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pomona Bed & Breakfast

Address: Lowick Green, Ulverston LA12 8DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ulverston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ulverston
Price Range: £81 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pomona Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pomona Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pomona Bed & Breakfast Ulverston, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing