We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Our perfect UK holiday retreat"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crooked Birch

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ulverston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crooked Birch
Ranked #24 of 28 Ulverston B&B and Inns
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"Our perfect UK holiday retreat"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at The Langdale for a week in June 2011, which is the one bedroom property on this site. We booked it to get away for a totally relaxing break and I was looking to book again for this November. Looking on cottages4you website, it would appear that it is fully booked so I looked on this site and whilst I was doing that I thought I would read previous reviews. I have to say I agree with the comments from Rosief18 and am astounded at the previous reviews!! I want to reassure people who have booked this cottage or who are looking to book that we thoroughtly enjoyed our week at this delightful cottage(the pictures on the website are exactly how it is, both very clean and well equipped) and found the owner and her sons to be friendly and very hospitable, fresh eggs daily!!
Our stay turned out to be exactly how we wanted it to be, peaceful and relaxing. It is in an excellant location, whilst appearing to be in the middle of nowhere (perfect!!!) it isn't too far away from shops and pubs.
I have echoed the huge thank you to the owners by email following our holiday, however I really wanted to give credit where it is due. We will definately return to Crooked Birch!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    2
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
4
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

We just got back from a fantastic week in the Lake District where we stayed at Crooked Birch. We booked the smallest of their properties, Wetherlam which is a fantastic old building that used to be the grooms quarters. We fell in love with the cottage and the location, totally remote up in the fells, is perfect for a romantic getaway and relaxing break. The owners were lovely, extremely helpful with everything while not being intrusive on our holiday at all.
We booked the cottage direct with the owners and only saw the reviews on this site recently. After reading the other reviews I was so worried about our holiday but I would assure anyone thinking of going that the property was lovely, completely clean and very homey. Wetherlam has a beaitful view from the front door and a little patio area to appreciate it from. The family have more horses than we could count, chickens, cats and 3 lovely, playful dogs who are always about! The whole place has a very relaxed feel, you don't need to keep your dogs on lead so it was wonderful for us with our two dogs. I really would recommend Crooked Birch to anyone wanting a remote walkers holiday. It is only around a 20 minute drive to the nearest town, Ulverston so while you can enjoy walks from the doorstep and complete peace and quiet, you are not too far from shops and pubs.
We would definitely go back to Crooked Birch. A huge thank you to the lovely owners for a brilliant week.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosief18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

We totally agree with the previous comments. Just to confirm that it's this place http://www.crookedbirch.co.uk/EskHause.html as the map on this site is pointing to a different place.

We chose this because it had a 4 star rating on Cottages4You and we could take our dogs. I don't think it's fit for purpose and if any official person was to inspect it they would close it down.

The steps down to the property were steep on broken and very dangerous when wet.

When we arrived only two lights worked in the kitchen and by the time we left only one worked, which was not enough. The cooker was dangerous. When you opened the door the glass panel fell out and the high to low gas settings worked back to front. One fire exit was blocked with furniture, another locked (part of the main house split into this accommodation), which left only one through the kitchen. The fire alarm battery died mid way through the visit and we did managed to inform the owner, but nothing was done. The place is an accident waiting to happen.

We had dogs with us and even with the usual mess you get with keeping animals there is no excuse for how dirty the place was. God knows the last time the place had been cleaned properly. For days we could not find a hoover to tidy up after ourselves and when we did, it was useless anyway. I actually had to fill a bowl of soapy water and scrub the rug to make the place feel better. I think I scrubbed up months and months of dirt, but the rug still had stains on it. The size of the living room was too small for just four people. The DVD player didn't work.

The bedroom we stayed in was above the owners lounge and they stayed up quite late chatting and playing music. On the last night there was heavy rain and we found rain pouring into the second bedroom! All bedrooms were musty and damp.

We had no control over the heating, it was off during the day and then blasted on at 6pm, which was no good for controlling the temperature for infants.

Whenever we needed to contact the owner she was never around. In fact we seemed like an inconvenience, like we were interrupting her tending to her farm animals. When she did visit us so that we could pay the balance she was very rude about other people that had stayed their previously.

By far the worst holiday experience we have ever had and if it wasn't for the fact that we were meeting family there we would have left after one night.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Digitalcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crooked Birch C, Owner at Crooked Birch, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
The steps are not broken or dangerous when wet.

As far as I recall, you never raised any issue about lighting - it would have been easy to fix.

No fire exit is locked or blocked and all alarms are tested. If you chose to run your own test with your detailed knowledge of the procedure you could have informed us that it was not up to standard and we would have done something about it. But you didn't.

Our cottages are cleaned after every stay. If my records are correct, it was in fact your dogs that caused a lot of 'dirt' being allowed on the furniture. But again, if you had any issue we would have done our best to rectify it. We could have just changed the rug for you if it was that bad - we have others in stock.

Again, if there was really water pouring in we really would've appreciated you telling us.

The latter part of your review is simply untrue. At the moment I am digitizing 5 years of comment books, cards, letters and emails thanking us, and again while I will say genuine criticism is to be expected and is valuable, our recollection of events are going to differ on this one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ulverston hotels

blackpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

Agree with everything from the previous review. Stayed here with both sets of parents. Arrived early but was told we could go in. The cottage was dirty and smelt of dogs, the carpets were disgusting and the whole place needs updating. The owner was so rude that we avoided her for the rest of the stay. There are steep steps to the entrance which are slippy and at night dangerous as there are no lights. It says on the website there is another entrance but the owner said we could only use when they were in and it was so dirty that the stairs seemed a better option. My parents could only stand it two nights then went home. The bedrooms were a decent size but downstairs was nowhere big enough for 6 people. The lounge had a log burner but didn't have a grate so would not stay lit and the heating is controlled by the owner who we didn't want to approach. I could go on and on about the negatives and would recommend anyone not to stay there at any cost. The owner does not deserve to run a business and any company advertising this cottage needs to take a close look before recommending to their customers.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank bevest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

We recently stayed at this supposedly 4* cottage...but in fact it should be a 2*. The place was absolutely filthy and smelt of animal urine. The mattresses and pillows were so old and uncomfortable. Bathroom was dirty, carpets have never been cleaned, nor the sofa's. Photos' on the website look nothing like the place. We were verbally and physically assaulted by the owner's son on leaving the property! Don't stay here! Unbelievable - these people should not be in business!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank JS_London77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulverston
2.0 mi away
No photo provided
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 2 in Kirkby in Furness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
6.4 mi away
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ulverston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
5.4 mi away
Lonsdale House Hotel
Lonsdale House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Ulverston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#4 of 5 in Ulverston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
5.4 mi away
Virginia House
Virginia House
#8 of 28 in Ulverston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.4 mi away
Red Lion Inn
Red Lion Inn
#1 of 28 in Ulverston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooked Birch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooked Birch

Property: Crooked Birch
Address: Subberthwaite, Ulverston LA12 8EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Ulverston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Ulverston
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Crooked Birch Ulverston, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing