We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lucky find”
Review of Church Walk House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ulverston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Church Walk House
Ranked #9 of 26 Ulverston B&B and Inns
n.wales
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“lucky find”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We had difficulty finding accommodation for a couple of nights at short notice due to us going to a funeral, one of the hotels I phoned had no rooms free and recomended the Church Walk House. It seems there are a lot of contractors in the area and taken up a lot of rooms. We managed to book two nights and arrived early evening, greeted by Martin and were shown our double bedded room with en suite. There was a kettle and enough tea and coffee sachets for our stay. Breakfast was requested for 9 am, and consisted of basically anything we required, from cereals to full english, fruit juice and tea/ coffee toast and jam. We didnt want too much ourselves and I asked for small cooked breakfast and my partner only wanted toast and jam. The stay was enjoyed, with a comfy bed and the room was pleasantly warm. We will certainly book a room there again on our next visit to Ulverston under more pleasant citcumstances, and will take this opportunity to thank Martin and John for being the perfect hosts..Thankyou

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjwalesN_wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
22
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

A brilliant place to stay en route to Conishead Priory. Our hosts Martin and John could not have been more welcoming. Our twin room was very clean and comfortable and breakfast was delicious, great coffee too! Great value for money too. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kp1002016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Stewart, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

On the afternoon I arrived in Ulverston, I struggled to find any vacant accommodation as there were a number of events on. I did find a pub with a room, but they wanted £85 for one night. Eventually a kind B & B landlady, with no vacancies, suggested I try Church Walk House. Church Walk House is a Grade II* Listed Building in the centre of town. I was met at the door by John who found a single and a double room vacant, I opted for the single room at £35 for the night. The room had a large comfortable bed, lots of cupboard space and tea and coffee making facilities. The room wasn't en suite, but a walk of twenty feet took me to a wonderfully large bathroom with a walk in moon shaped shower and beautiful tiling. Later I met Martin who advised me that a good meal could be had at the nearby Rose and Crown. He was right, I had the excellent trio of lamb chops.
An enjoyable afternoon and night in Ulverston then saw me have an excellent nights sleep.
At the breakfast table in the morning, as well as cereals and juice, Martin gave myself and the other guests a breakfast cooked and prepared to our preferences and ingredients.
Overall a very enjoyable experience for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimDeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Nice big room and bathroom. Martin and John were wonderful hosts. They sent us to a wonderful Chinese restaurant and recommended some special places to visit. Breakfast was excellent even if Martin wouldn't share his secret to preparation of the mushrooms!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toaders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed here in August 2011, but I didn't write a review then. After staying at a different place this August (2013) I think maybe I should have. This is a nice place with 2 very pleasant hosts. We had a problem with our plane being late so didn't actually arrive until about 2 in the morning driving from the Manchester airport. One of the hosts actually stayed up and waited for us! He waved me down in the street and showed us to our room. He was up again the next morning to fix breakfast. The breakfast was very excellent. I ordered the same thing every morning; a full English breakfast. The room was not huge but fine. At 65 GBP per night with breakfast included I think this was a very good price. This year, because we decided to go at the last minute, we had to take a place down the street from this one which was above a bar, had no breakfast and cost 85 GBP per night with no room service. The Church Walk House cleaned up the room every day. They even did our laundry during our stay for a nominal fee. If I return I'd certainly try to stay here again. Just got to get them early enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rogo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

me and my wife really enjoyed our 3 nights in this first class b & b, john & martin were excellent hosts and cooked a very good breakfast, the rooms were very clean and tidy and would recommend staying there. (a good place to stay when cartmel races are on)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank russellh63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

John and Martin are so friendly and welcoming! And what a beautiful house they share with us travellers! Beautiful, tasteful decor, comfortable beds and lovely furnishings. Lovely dining room and a fabulous breakfast completed a lovely stay in Ulverston, a much overlooked part of the Lake District.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alis0nW222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ulverston hotels
0.2 mi away
Lonsdale House Hotel
Lonsdale House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Ulverston
70 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ulverston
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Virginia House
Virginia House
#11 of 26 in Ulverston
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Kings Arms
#24 of 26 in Ulverston
1 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Farmers Arms
The Farmers Arms
#3 of 7 in Ulverston
41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rock House
Rock House
#14 of 26 in Ulverston
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Walk House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Walk House

Property: Church Walk House
Address: Church Walk House Church Walk, Ulverston LA12 7EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Ulverston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ulverston
Hotel Class:4 star — Church Walk House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Church Walk House Ulverston, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing