We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Peaceful”

Manjushri Kadampa Meditation Centre
Ranked #2 of 17 things to do in Ulverston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Manjushri Kadampa Meditation Centre is an internationally renowned centre for meditation, where everyone is welcome to enjoy a peaceful environment or join in the many programmes offered throughout the year. Whether you are looking for a day visit to the Buddhist Temple, house or grounds, an introduction to Buddhist meditation, or in depth courses and retreats, Manjushri KMC offers an enjoyable and meaningful experience. Daily free 15 minute guided meditations held in the World Peace Temple, everyone welcome. Each day there is a guided meditation at 12.30pm and 2pm.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Peaceful”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I visited Ulverston with the sole purpose of visiting the temple. It did not disappoint. We visited on a Sunday and managed to get there for the Meditation session they have on Sundays. It definitely renewed my love of meditating. Afterwards we had some lunch in the café which was lovely as always, with very good coffee. We then wandered the grounds and took one of the walks down to the beach and sat on the pebbles in the sunshine and just enjoyed the view and the quiet. I would recommend anybody to visit and get back in-touch with their inner self.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    51
    3
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Lakes
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fresh air, peace and tranquility!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Chuck in a very nice cup of tea and we're sorted! We went along to the Open Doors Day. We had a lovely trip around the centre. It was very informative and a real insight into Buddhism, without being over-whelming. We were offered a 15-minute meditation at the end. I do yoga so am used to meditation (in small dozes). My husband hasn't but he wanted to have a go. He really enjoyed it! The cafe is lovely, as is the shop and the walks through the woods are great - down to the shore, for a lovely view across Morecambe Bay. (Dogs are allowed in the woods.) Well worth a visit, especially if you're staying in the caravan site in Ulverston - it's a good, circular walk to Manjushri and back through the woods.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PamSouthLakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Manjushri Centre”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is an extremely impressive and interesting place, and incorporates a very nice cafe and shop. The golden temple is definately a "must see" (take your shoes off at the door) and the grounds are well kept, with many benches to relax on and soak up the atmosphere.
The Buddhist monks are very approachable and helpful, and come from all parts of the world.....

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is a very peaceful place . We have visited the priory Over 7 times from January To December for the past 7 years. To sit in the walled garden and be left to contemplate your life is amazing. If you go into the world of peace temple it is so peaceful you WILL be changed for the better. If you get the chance (weather permitting ) walk through the grounds to the beach,the walk is through the woods but is worth it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ian065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“relaxing and charming”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

A lovely peaceful, relaxing place. Temple was amazing. Grounds and walks were gorgeous. You got a free map of place, which is unusual, as most places charged. There was a good selection of leaflets for your use explaining about buddisam. Shop had a good selection of products. Cafe on site, which we didn't have time to use but looked clean and tidy. Bathrooms were clean.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mandy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Manjushri Kadampa Meditation Centre also viewed

 

Been to Manjushri Kadampa Meditation Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing