We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New chef - Top-notch !”
Review of Fishermans Arms

Fishermans Arms
Ranked #14 of 72 Restaurants in Ulverston
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“New chef - Top-notch !”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This had been a so-so hit-or-miss sort of restaurant in the past, in an excellent location and with stunning views out over Morecambe Bay. Now, with a new chef in the kitchen the place has been lifted up to a gastronomic delight - the food was consistently good, perfectly cooked and seasoned, the wine choices are intelligent and really matched what we ate - an altogether satisfying experience !

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    61
    20
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dinner for One”
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Had a three course meal for £25.00, a selection of at least six choices for each course, I selected pan fried chicken livers for a starter followed by sea bass. The food was of good portion size and was cooked to perfection. Service was spot on, the time from ordering to delivery and arrival of each course was spot on. Good friendly service from Craig and his team. I would recommend this restaurant to one and all.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A happy return”
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

It's 18 months since we ate here last because the food and serice were pretty bad but when we heard there was a new chef we decided to give them a second chance and we were pleased to find that the food was great and the staff were helpful friendly and very professional .
We will definitely return !

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andrex40Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous lunch”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I recently visited The Fishermans, I had a fabulous lunch lots of variety on the menu and reasonable prices (if its to cheap i tend to worry about the quality)I also has a really nice glass of sauvignon which was very good value

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank colin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake District
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We have a delicious lunch, the menu offered many choices, the food was beautifully cooked and presented. Potions were more that generous and very affordable. The décor is fresh, clean, and relaxing. We were given a warm, friendly and courteous welcome by the staff and owners Ian and Andrea. We will certainly be back

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ozmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fishermans Arms also viewed

 
Ulverston, Cumbria
 

Been to Fishermans Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing