We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic scones”
Review of Gillam's

Gillam's
Ranked #16 of 72 Restaurants in Ulverston
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic scones”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

And a great Tea menu. Well worth a visit. Don't go to Costa, you can go to a costa anytime. This is so close you are missing a real treat. And the music is relaxing too.

Helpful?
Thank Monkeypants186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    53
    17
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
253 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“I wish I could pick it up and put it in my home town”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We came across Gillam's and it looks lovely and welcoming. There is not a huge amount of space for pushchairs etc. but the staff were accommodating. I had soup and a sandwich (brie and cranberry) which was very nice and filling. I noticed they did get another table order wrong and did not tell me they did not have diet coke until after they had taken my order (although I had an organic cola which was very nice as an alternative). I thought it was lovely and quaint and reasonably priced for the atmosphere/old fashioned nature of the place. I would definitely want to go back if I was ever in Ulverston again, really varied menu and a real treat to visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CrosbyFieldsS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

It must have been an off day for Gillam's when we visited this week. Soup was lukewarm, cheese and red onion sandwich was unappetising - dry and tasteless and the tea was very poor. We weren't asked by the staff if everything was alright as I think they knew that the food wasn't as good as it should have been.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Proper Tea, no dust here!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Gillam's has an old world charm about it with plenty of teas and coffees from around the world to choose from, The service is warm and friendly the menu has many Home cooked Vegetarian options also

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Lovely traditional tea room. I had a piece of carrot cake and an earl grey tea which was very tasty. Nice outside area to the back if the weather is good. Friendly, helpful staff, definitely worth a visit if you are in ulverston, beats Costa hands down.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gillam's also viewed

 
Ulverston, Cumbria
Ulverston, Cumbria
 

Been to Gillam's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing