We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A luxurious retreat in the heart of the town!”
other travellers have booked this property
Drawing Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Drawing Room
Conservatory Sauna
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Drawing Room
Conservatory
Sauna
Kid's Single Room
Top floor double bedroom
Kitchen
Courtyard Garden
Ulverston Carnival
Front of the house
Windermere
Side Alley
Windermere
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Ulverston, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mamacosmo
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
1 review
“A luxurious retreat in the heart of the town!”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We wanted to stay in the heart of Ulverston for the Retro Rendezvous weekend celebrations (and my husband's first birthday with his younger brother) and were lucky enough to find this property. The owner was extremely accommodating and allowed us to stay for 2 days instead of the minimum 3 - thanks Lesley!
We were welcomed with fresh flowers, a bottle of prosecco, biscuits, fresh fruit, a welcome card and complimentary robes - what lovely touches that made us feel instantly welcome and relaxed!
The property itself was a joy to stay in. My teenage children loved the library whilst my 3 year old was right at home in the top floor bedroom, playing with the toys provided.
The beds were extremely comfortable - and the luxurious Egyptian cotton bedding was most welcome in the hot weather we experienced whilst there.
It was so nice to be able to wake up in the morning and step right out onto the High Street to get our fresh pastries from the local bakery.
We all loved our stay there and would most DEFINITELY stay there again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location
Liked least: Small kitchen
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMoogSc...
Lake District, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Love love loved it”
Reviewed 27 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Great, quirky townhouse in Ulverston town centre. On the doorstep of great pubs with good food, takeaways and the wonderful Lake District. Loved the decor and finishing touches (fresh Christmas tree, flowers and fruit) but have to agree with previous comments, the beds are not the most comfortable. Didn't use the sauna but have to think the space would have been better used as another bathroom. That said I would definately consider using 20 Queen Street again but maybe just for the two of us, not 4

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Uncomfortable beds
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deadybear
Californian in London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Town Centre Property”
Reviewed 22 March 2013 for a stay in December 2012

I have only wonderful things to say about this property. The whole place is quite well looked after, and we instantly felt comfortable and at home upon entering. The downstairs library and TV room has an especially comfy couch, and the movie selection could keep you occupied for several days. The sitting room was lovely, and as it was Christmas time, they even put up a small tree and lights for us. We spent a lot of time in this room, sitting and reading by the fire, a nice drink from the bar in hand. The beds are just great, featuring very nice linens. The bedrooms aren't huge, but the communal space is plentiful, and that's were we spent most of our time anyway.

Be warned that UIverston itself is quite small and there's not a whole lot going on, but frankly we came to the property to relax and not do much of anything beyond enjoy the holidays. The owner of the property is wonderful. She knew we were interested in local walks during out stay, and mailed us several trail maps and pamphlets before our arrival. It's a five minute walk from the train station, and literally sixty seconds to get to the centre of town. There are a few good places to eat in town, but the kitchen here is well stocked and a really nice place to prepare meals.

Overall this property is perfect if you're looking for a quiet and comfortable place to spend a week. There are some local walks that are very lovely, and the Lake District is at hand as well. Frankly, we did a lot less walking than we had planned on just because the house was so lovely and warm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling of being totally comfortable from the moment we walked in.
Liked least: The bathroom being on the top floor.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sauna / character of the house.
Liked least: Lack of handles on the fridge etc, and the outside noise.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quaint but with all mod-cons.
Liked least: Only one bathroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
EmeraldCi...
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A treasure of cute and quirky spaces for kids”
Reviewed 30 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Our family of three children (6, 3 and 1) thoroughly enjoyed exploring the uniqueness of this place during our stay. This was our first trip to the Lake District from the US, and we definitely felt welcome here, especially with the welcome basket of some basic groceries to get us started and the toys waiting for the kids. The ATM and grocery (Tesco Express) are conveniently located a block away.

The only surprise was that 2 bathrooms are listed, but there is only one toilet on the top floor. The second "bathroom" is a shower in the basement by the sauna.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: kitchen, parking pass
Liked least: only toilet is on third floor, no clothes dryer
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2012
Dear Samsy,
Thank you very much for your review and for highlighting that there are apparently 2 bathrooms ! On our own site we do make it clear that it is just a shower room in the cellar and I think Holiday Lettings and TripAdvisor has misunderstood this - we will be correcting !
Best wishes,
Lesley Gaunt.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall presentation and 'feel' of the house
Liked least: Road noise - sleeping at the front of the house meant being woken early with traffic noise
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing