We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really interesting”

Stott Park Bobbin Mill
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Ulverston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tebay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Really interesting”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We came here with our two girls and we all found it really interesting. The staff were all really helpful and we loved seeing machinery working. My girls were telling everyone about it the next day we would go again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Verity A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    35
    1
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A piece of old England”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

While we were in the area we took the opportunity of making a return visit to the Bobbin Mill. This time we had our grand daughter with us. It was a damp day, but it didn't detract for the visit. There was a trail for the children to follow with a reward at the end. Won't tell you what the reward was, but the grand daughter was pleased. The Mill is in a beautiful location. The guide who took us round was enthusiastic and ready to answer any questions. It was fascinating to see how quickly a piece of wood turned into a cotton bobbin that people of a certain age will recall. Would certainly recommend a visit. It is hard to imagine young children working there. Brings it all home to you.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Noreen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“do you know how those tiny bobbins which hold you cotton are made?”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was a brilliant place for looking back into how bobbins are made. Excellent staff and very interesting. Working machinery being demonstrated. We even took our dogs round.
Great hidden little gem and ideal for the kids to see how things are made. Highly recommend.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kaye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Only dropped in as my husband visited here as a child and he wanted to show our 3yo. So glad we did it's a little gem of a place with the steam engine powering the original machines and the chance to see a bobbin being made from block of tree to recognisable bobbin! The workings of the mill are enthusiastically and knowledgeably demonstrated and you get a real sense of life/work conditions back in the day. Staff very good and the extras all around the outside from the boards with extra info and a word search game for the kids to the dressing up room and the lovely brook and picnic areas make it a nice place to spend some time. It's been beautifully restored and cared for and is recommended for a visit. (They didn't just make bobbins btw they did a lot of war effort things too but I will let you do the tour to find out more!!) ps steam engine not on every day so check become you visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank NorthStarRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Bob along to this unusual industrial attraction”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

It was a rather damp day and as English Heritage members we thought we would drop by the bobbin mill. This is not the sort of place that would normally be of much interest but we went along to see what it was all about. I’m glad we did!
You join a guided tour which also has demonstrations of how the bobbins were made. The original machinery is still in use which gives a very vivid illustration of how life must been in the mill. This was a fascinating insight into factory life creating a product that one would not normally think much about.
The guides were excellent and gave a good amount of information without overloading us with facts. We left feeling happy that we had dropped by such an unusual factory from the past.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank blackdog400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stott Park Bobbin Mill also viewed

 

Been to Stott Park Bobbin Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing