We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Orchard Cottage

Dining table overlooking Orchard Cottage garden to the Lakeland fells in the distance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining table overlooking Orchard Cottage garden to the Lakeland fells in the distance
Apples from the Orchard Cottage garden View across Orchard Cottage's field
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
38 reviews
Dining table overlooking Orchard Cottage garden to the Lakeland fells in the distance
Apples from the Orchard Cottage garden
View across Orchard Cottage's field
Sitting area with bed settee
You will see lots of bird life at Orchard Cottage
Wood burning stove for cosy nights by the fire
Lovely comfortable bed looking out over Orchard Cottage field
Beautiful Portmerion tableware
Wooden chess set
View from the kitchen into the living room
Front of Orchard Cottage with apple trees in blossom on the right
View across the wooden deck
Very comfortable couches to relax on
Orchard Cottage
View from the side of Orchard Cottage with Hoad Monument in the distance
View from the back deck
Small shower room with toilet
Orchard Cottage behind the blossoming trees - taken in the month of May
Writing bureau with information on the local area
Check out the lovely comments in our visitors book in the vestibule
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Ulverston, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
minkenned...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Our stay in this lovely cottage was great, the location and views were fantastic, Jenny is very friendly and very welcoming and gave lots of great advice for day trips, would definitely recommend staying here. Thanks for a a great few days.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review Orchard Cottage and so pleased you enjoyed your stay, also that Grizedale Forest, my recommendation for a venue for cycling and walking, was appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chemist27
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“An amazing birthday surprise weekend Jenny really went above and beyond couldn't ask for more”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

My daughter booked orchard cottage because of the brilliant reviews and as it was a surprise 65th present for my birthday as she knows I love the lake district.
Jenny is such a lovely owner who made us so welcome and the cake was amazing which she so kindly made. It was very cosy with the wood burner we felt very relaxed in the cottage. My wife was really impressed with the pheasants and wildlife she saw. Thank you again Jenny

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2014
My pleasure, pleased you enjoyed it. The pheasants are pretty special, the cock and at least three hens feed daily outside the bay window of the cottage so can be seen whilst eating breakfast along with other garden birds. Our newest edition to the feeding tree are gold finches which are also beautiful.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I would return to this quaint cottage!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

My gorgeous boyfriend and I visited this little cottage for a romantic 2 day break on the 07th & 08th of Feb 2014. The cottage is very cosy and just what we were looking for. The cottage is warmed by some electric heaters and a real wood burner which the owner Jenny had burning away when we arrived. The next day Jenny left us some extra logs as we checked out quite late on the Sunday. The cottage itself was nicely laid out and their was plenty of room for the 2 of us. We cooked a nice meal on the Saturday night and the kitchen was well equipped and didn't lack anything. The bathroom is slightly small but very functional and works very well, very warm, very hot instant shower and lashings of hot water.

Yes we will return and at great value for money !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2014
yes, the wet room is small but, as you say, effective and cottage still excellent value for money. Look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just superb!!!!!”
Reviewed 25 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the cottage for Christmas, it was fantastic. The bed is so soft and comfortable. The fire was lit for us which was incredibly welcoming after a day exploring the lake district. The cottage is centrally located and easy to access all the beautiful areas of cumbria. We will be back in a jiffy. Absolutely no faults with this country paradise.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Dec 2013
Very pleased you enjoyed your stay, Christmas is a special time. I'm not always here to light a fire but if I know someone is coming in late in the afternoon, and I am here, I can light the fire if required on cold wintry days.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anonymous...
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cosy, refreshing hideaway!”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We had a lovely few days at Orchard Cottage, and particularly enjoyed the wood-burning fire which made us feel very cosy on the windy days. The cottage is well presented, and has a homely feel as well as being a lovely change of scenery, in a setting that allowed us to get away from the busyness of life and to rest and relax.

Jenny was incredibly helpful in adding to our fire-building skills, and was a delightful host. We accidentally left something behind and she kindly posted it to us - very much appreciated!

We enjoyed the sights of Ulverston and taking a walk up to the monument by the coast. We visited a lovely church on the Sunday we stayed, and would be very happy to visit again in future. Thank you for a lovely stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fire!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2013
Thanks for the kind comments. More fire lighting skills will be
taught next time you come, will make a boy scout out of you yet.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel W
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in great location”
Reviewed 27 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This really is a very pretty and homely cottage in a peacful location providng a perfect get away, and the hosts were very nice offering to take us into town and wash our towels. It is in a good location to visit the lakes only a short drive to the bottom of Lake Windermere, and fabulous value for money. We really enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was so pretty and the location
Liked least: The soft bed and lack of bath
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2013
Thanks Rachel for your kind review. Hope the learner driver is doing well!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkey09
England
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tranquillity and Comfort at Orchard Cottage”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 4 nights and can only describe it as wonderful. Jenny and Brian perfect hosts, flowers in kitchen on arrival, kindling and logs every day and even an offer to lay the fire for us. Good selection books to read, games to play and a selection dvds. Kitchen fully equipped, cosy sitting rronm. Hard to move from dining table as busty watching the birds in the apple trees. Good location and would definately recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Sitting cosy in front of log burner or watching birds in tree
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2013
So pleased you enjoyed the Orchard Cottage experience. It gives me great pleasure to read your comments and know that you will recommend us to your friends. I look forward to welcoming you again whenever you are ready for some more rest and relaxation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$84
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing