We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful, clean, country cottage with great local”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge A well equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Lounge
A well equipped kitchen
Up-Stairs
The Lounge
The Lounge
Local Cows
The playground
Local farm shop
The hoad monument
High Sweden bridge
Above High Sweden bridge
Windermere from Waterhead
Ulverston Channel
Roan head beach
Roan head
Phinlain Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ulverston, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
eriknwend...
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Peaceful, clean, country cottage with great local”
Reviewed 26 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Phinlain cottage is a couple of miles outside Ulverston (not on a bus route) so you do need a car.
The cottage is lovely, but do be aware that its an old cottage with steep stairs - & if you have a tendency to get up during the night , bear in mind that the bathroom is downstairs & both bedrooms open directly onto the stairs which can be a bit un-nerving (twin room has stairgate). The bathroom is newly refurbished & the whole cottage is very clean. We needed to contact the owners Sean & Flora a couple of times with queries - but they were really helpful & got back to us quickly. The phone signal in the cottage is limited to texts from the lounge windowsill & phoning from the bottom of the garden, but the wifi's good - & hey do you really want to spend your holiday on the phone?!
There's a friendly real ale brew pub a few yards up the road (no food) but plenty of places for food in Ulverston as well as a nice Booths supermarket & lots of places to visit in the area (eg Swarthmoor Hall, Conishead Priory & plenty of walking (well it is the Lake district)).
All in all, we really enjoyed our stay & we'd happily stay here again if we're in this area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Heather A
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Cottage South of the Lake District”
Reviewed 14 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

A lovely cottage, very comfortable, nicely furnished and equipped in a great area for exploring the southern part of the Lake District. The only problem was a very messy fridge when we arrived but the rest of the property was spotless so I assume this was an oversight

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia...
1 review
“Welcoming and friendly”
Reviewed 17 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We only stayed 3 days so didn't get the chance to explore very far because of local family commitments but it was comfortable and very convenient. Thank you for a very friendly welcome and attention to detail.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 May 2017
Thank you for such a lovely review. It's great to welcome you back and we hope to see you soon,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 May 2017
Ah yes, we agree that the area needs more time - that's why we bought here! Thank you for such a lovely review and thanks for choosing us for your honeymoon. Remember, we take children too! #cheeky!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
rbark
bath, united kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway ”
Reviewed 29 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We've had a lovely week here. In fact, the cottage was a life saver over Christmas and gave us the perfect getaway for us four, while being able to enjoy a family Christmas.
The cottage is small but very cosy. Open fire meant we had lovely hot chocolate and toasted marshmallows. Kitchen is just enough and perfectly stocked and dishwasher was a treat. Renovated bathroom was great. The wifi and Amazon Prime meant the teenagers could catch up with friends and watch movies but no mobile signal meant we weren't too disturbed (bliss!).
The setting is lovely with walks around Pennington. Not in the lakes themselves but with Ulverston nearby there's lots to do. And the people at the Wellington pub up the road are very friendly.
Thanks for a lovely stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2017
Thanks for this lovely review. I thought I had replied to it months ago! Anyway - thank you and we hope to welcome you back. Darren and the team at The Wellie do keep the beers coming very successfully...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing